Areas found at plate boundaries are characterized by the presence of seismic, volcanic and geothermal activity. These processes are enhanced by the circulation of hydrothermal fluids in the crust, which transport volatiles from the deep crust or mantle to the surface. Certainly not limited to plate boundaries, as magma rises from depth, decreasing pressure allows volatile species to partition to the gas phase. Bubbles form, grow, coalesce and gases start to flow through vesiculated magma. Eventually, fluids escape towards the surface using tectonic structures and are released in the atmosphere, in some cases diffused through a soil or bubbling through a water pool, in other cases forming large plumes or explosive eruption columns. Fluids play an important role in earthquake generation.
Geochemical and isotope composition of gases deriving from different settings can trace sources and chemical and physical processes, providing information about deep earth. Moreover, volatiles play a key role in magma transport and have significant impact on the style and timing of volcanic eruptions. In addition, noble gases deriving from the deep earth can provide important information about their crust or mantle origin because these gases hardly react with other materials during migration. While carbon dioxide is one of the major constituents in volcanic/geothermal areas, methane, dominating sedimentary low heat flow areas, is often linked to subsurface hydrocarbon reservoirs that due to tectonic discontinuities are released in the atmosphere. Furthermore, sulfur dioxide emissions that take place in volcanic environments can cause acid rain, influence aerosol formation and, if an eruption column reaches the stratosphere, cause global dimming and a decrease in Earth’s surface temperatures for years. Similarly, halogens can dramatically impact proximal ecosystems, influence the oxidation capacity of the troposphere and alter the stratospheric ozone layer. Gas composition and flux may change with time, reflecting variations in the system. Measuring gases therefore constitutes a powerful tool for monitoring and understanding Earth.
This session aims to merge different geo-disciplines and bring together researchers interested in the comprehension of the degassing processes that take place in various geodynamic regimes. Furthermore, identify the impact that the emissions can have on terrestrial environment, atmospheric composition, climate and human health at various temporal and spatial scales. We invite contributions discussing novel measurement techniques, field measurements, direct and remote ground- and space-based observations and modeling studies of degassing can provide new insights into volcanic, tectonic and atmospheric processes on local and global scales.

Co-organized as AS3.29, co-sponsored by EAG
Convener: Nicole Bobrowski | Co-conveners: Giovanni Chiodini, Kyriaki Daskalopoulou, Artur Ionescu, Fátima Viveiros, Carlo Cardellini, Marcello Liotta, Julia Arndt
| Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15, 14:00–18:00
Room D1
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X2

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room D1

Chairperson: Fatima Viveiros, Nicole Bobrowski
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Guillaume Boudoire, Andrea L. Rizzo, Ilenia Arienzo, and Andrea Di Muro
08:45–09:00 |
Antonio Caracausi, Shafik Bafakih, Guillaume Boudoire, Massimo Coltorti, Andrea Di Muro, Barbara Faccini, Fausto Grassa, Frederic Lauret, Armaud Lemarchand, Marco Liuzzo, Andrea Luca Rizzo, and Claudio Ventura Bordenca
09:00–09:15 |
Brenot Hugues, Nicolas Theys, Michel Van Roozendael, Caroline Fayt, Jonas Gliß, Kerstin Stebel, Benoît Smets, Julien Barrière, Nicolas d'Oreye, Mathieu Yalire Mapendano, Abel Minani, Muhindo Syauswa, Santiago Arellano, and François Kervyn
09:15–09:30 |
Michael Zelenski, Ilya Chaplygin, Mahin Farhadian, Yuri Taran, Robin Campion, Behzad Mehrabi, Ata Shakeri, and Morteza Delavari
09:30–09:45 |
Mike Burton, Manuel Queisser, Antonio Chiarugi, Ben Esse, Matthew Varnam, Thomas Christoper, Francesco D'Amato, Silvia Viciani, and Rod Stewart
09:45–10:00 |
María Asensio-Ramos, Claudia Rodríguez-Pérez, Pedro A. Hernández, Germán D. Padilla, Cecilia Amonte, Eleazar Padrón, Criselda Baldago, Gladys V. Melián, Nemesio M. Pérez, Carlo Arcilla, Alfredo M. Lagmay, Fátima Rodríguez, Mar Alonso, and Mario A. Aurelio
10:00–10:15 |
Natacha Sainlot, Ivan Vlastélic, Séverine Moune, Estelle Rose-Koga, and Felipe Aguilera
Coffee break
Chairperson: Julia Arndt, Marcello Liotta
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Maria Clara Lamberti, Pablo Forte, Joaquín Llano, Juan Manuel Albite, Alcira Trinelli, Jonathan M. Castro, and Mariano Agusto
14:15–14:30 |
Anja Schmidt, Evgenia Ilyinskaya, and Hanne Krage Carlsen
14:30–14:45 |
Ben Crawford, Jesse Kroll, Colette Heald, and David Hagan
14:45–15:00 |
Emily Mason, Evgenia Ilyinskaya, Rachel C W Whitty, Penny Wieser, Emma J Liu, Marie Edmonds, Tamsin Mather, Tamar Elias, Patricia Amanda Nadeau, Christoph Kern, David J Schneider, and Clive Oppenheimer
15:00–15:15 |
Elisa Carboni, Isabelle Taylor, Giuseppe Salerno, Pasquale Sellitto, Roy Grainger, Tamsin Mather, Stefano Corradini, Luca Merucci, Vitali Fioletov, Nickolay Krotkov, and Simon Carn
15:15–15:30 |
Pasquale Sellitto, Giuseppe Salerno, Alessandro La Spina, Tommaso Caltabiano, Simona Scollo, Antonella Boselli, Giuseppe Leto, Ricardo Zanmar Sanchez, Pierre-Jean Gauthier, Luca Terray, Suzanne Crumeyrolle, and Pierre Briole
15:30–15:45 |
Evgenia Ilyinskaya, Stephen Mobbs, Ralph Burton, Mike Burton, Federica Pardini, Melissa Anne Pfeffer, Ruth Purvis, James Lee, Stephane Baguitte, Barbara Brooks, Ionna Colfescu, Gudrun Nina Petersen, Axel Wellpott, and Baldur Bergsson
Coffee break
Chairperson: Kyriaki Daskalopoulou, Artur Ionescu
16:15–16:30 |
| solicited
Sascha Brune, Simon Williams, Kevin Wong, Emily Mason, Marie Edmonds, Sabin Zahirovic, Madison East, and Dietmar Müller
16:30–16:45 |
Josef Vlček, Tomáš Fischer, and Martin Lanzendörfer
16:45–17:00 |
Claudio Ventura-Bordenca, Antonio Caracausi, Marco Camarda, Lauro Chiaraluce, Sofia De Gregorio, Rocco Favara, Alessandro Aiuppa, and Raphaël Pik
17:00–17:15 |
Lorenza Li Vigni, Walter D'Alessandro, Sergio Calabrese, and Antonina Lisa Gagliano
17:15–17:30 |
Giorgio Capasso, Roberto M. R. Di Martino, Marco Camarda, Sofia De Gregorio, and Vincenzo Prano
17:30–17:45 |
Florian M. Schwandner, Jack Elston, Jorge Andres Diaz, Maciej Stachura, Ernesto Corrales, Joshua Fromm, David C. Pieri, Joshua B. Fisher, Thomas A. Youmans, and Charles E. Miller
17:45–18:00 |
Giancarlo Ciotoli, Livio Ruggiero, GianPaolo Cavinato, and Sabina Bigi