Metamorphic minerals document the dynamic evolution of our planet, from the Archean to Present and from the grain- to plate-scale. Deciphering these records requires an approach that integrates petrology, geochemistry, chronology, structural analysis and modelling. Our ability to study our dynamic lithosphere through metamorphic geology continues to improve. At the same time, new analyses and approaches reveal issues and pitfalls that inspire future development.

This session aims to highlight integrated metamorphic geology and its use in elucidating the processes that shaped cratons and mountain belts through time. We welcome contributions in petrology, geo- and thermo-chronology, trace-element and isotope geochemistry, thermodynamic modelling, and structural geology—all with a specific focus on studying metamorphosed-metasomatised rocks. Part of the session will be devoted to novel developments and applications in geochronology and micro- to nano-analytical methods.

Invited speakers:
Robert Holder (Johns Hopkins University): "Monazite Eu anomalies revisited: beyond feldspar"
Pierre Lanari (Universität Bern): "An integrated modelling framework for tracing equilibrium relationships in metamorphic rocks"

Co-organized as GD2.10/TS3.8
Convener: Matthijs Smit | Co-conveners: Daniela Rubatto, Tom Raimondo, Emilie Janots
| Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room D2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X2

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room D2

Chairperson: Emilie Janots; Matthijs Smit
14:00–14:15 |
Bernardo Cesare, Fabrizio Nestola, Mugnaioli Enrico, Della Ventura Giancarlo, Peruzzo Luca, Bartoli Omar, Viti Cecilia, Johnson Tim, and Erickson Timmons
14:15–14:30 |
Matteo Alvaro, Mattia Gilio, Ross Angel, and Marco Scambelluri
14:45–15:00 |
Stacy Phillips, Tom Argles, Nigel Harris, Clare Warren, and Nick Roberts
15:00–15:15 |
Donna Whitney, Katherine Fornash, Patricia Kang, Alberto Vitale Brovarone, and Laure Martin
15:15–15:30 |
Miguel Cisneros, Jaime Barnes, Whitney Behr, Alissa Kotowski, and Daniel Stockli
15:30–15:45 |
Alice Vho, Daniela Rubatto, Pierre Lanari, Franscesco Giuntoli, Daniele Regis, and Florian Bulle
Coffee break
Chairperson: Daniela Rubatto; Tom Raimondo
16:15–16:30 |
Silvia Volante, William J. Collins, Eleanore Blereau, Amaury Pourteau, Zheng-Xiang Li, Chris Spencer, Adam Nordsvan, Jiangyu Li, and Matthijs Smit
16:30–16:45 |
Alexander Prent, Andreas Beinlich, Laura Morrissey, Tom Raimondo, Chris Clark, and Andrew Putnis
16:45–17:00 |
Robert Holder and Chris Yakymchuk
17:00–17:15 |
Lorraine Tual, Ellen Kooijman, Melanie Schmitt, and Matthijs Smit
17:45–18:00 |
Ismay Vénice Akker, Horst Zwingmann, Andrew Todd, Alfons Berger, and Marco Herwegh