CR2.3 | PICO

Invited Speaker is Christian Hauck (University of Fribourg) with the title:
'Geophysical monitoring techniques to observe Alpine permafrost degradation – a 20-years perspective'

Geophysical measurements offer important baseline datasets as well as validation for modelling and remote sensing products for cryospheric sciences. Applications include the dynamics of ice-sheets, alpine glaciers and sea ice, changes in snow cover properties of seasonal and permanent snow, snow/ice-atmosphere-ocean interactions, permafrost degradation, geomorphic processes and changes in subsurface materials.

In this session we welcome contributions related to a wide spectrum of geophysical- and in-situ methods, including advances in diverse techniques such as radioglaciology, active and passive seismology, acoustic sounding, GPS/GNSS reflectometry or time delay techniques, cosmic ray neutron sensing, drone applications, geoelectrics and NMR. Contributions may concern field applications as well as new approaches in geophysical/in-situ survey techniques or theoretical advances in the field of data analysis, processing or inversion. Case studies from all parts of the cryosphere such as snow, alpine glaciers, ice sheets, glacial and periglacial environments and sea ice are highly welcome. The focus of the session is to compare experiences in the application, processing, analysis and interpretation of different geophysical and in-situ techniques in these highly complex environments.

This session is offered as a PICO: an engaging presentation format that has been successfully tested for this session during the last three years at EGU. All selected contributions will present their research orally, and then further present their research using interactive screens. This results in rich scientific feedback and is an effective tool for communicating science with high visibility.

Co-organized as HS1.1.6/SM1.9
Convener: Nanna Bjørnholt Karlsson | Co-conveners: Franziska Koch, Reinhard Drews, Kristina Keating, Emma C. Smith
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–12:30
PICO spot 4

Friday, 12 April 2019

PICO spot 4
Chairperson: N. B. Karlsson/F. Koch
08:40–08:42 |
PICO4.2 |
Theresa Maierhofer, Lukas Aigner, Christin Hilbich, Christian Hauck, and Adrian Flores-Orozco
08:42–08:44 |
PICO4.3 |
Coline Mollaret, Florian Wagner, Christin Hilbich, and Christian Hauck
08:44–08:46 |
PICO4.4 |
Fernando A. Monteiro Santos, Mohammad Farzamian, Gonçalo Vieira, Borhan Yaghoobi, Christian Hauck, Catarina Paz, Ivo Bernando, Miguel Ramos, and Miguel Angel de Pablo
Sea ice and ocean floors
08:46–08:48 |
PICO4.5 |
Salvatore Moschella, Andrea Cannata, Flavio Cannavò, Stefano Gresta, and Laura Spina
08:48–08:50 |
PICO4.6 |
Jean Rabault, Graig Sutherland, and Atle Jensen
08:50–08:52 |
PICO4.7 |
Sergey Toschov and Ruslan Zhostkov
08:52–08:54 |
PICO4.8 |
Emma C. Smith, Reinhard Drews, Todd Ehlers, Dieter Franke, Christoph Gaedike, Coen Hofstede, Gerhard Kuhn, Astrid Lambrecht, Christoph Mayer, Ralf Tiedemann, and Olaf Eisen
Ice rheology
08:54–08:56 |
PICO4.9 |
Sebastian Hellmann, Melchior Grab, Andreas Bauder, and Hansruedi Maurer
08:56–08:58 |
PICO4.10 |
Thomas Jordan, Dustin Schroeder, Cooper Elsworth, Davide Castelletti, Jilu Li, Matthew Siegfreid, and Jorgen Dall
08:58–09:00 |
PICO4.11 |
Ole Zeising, Ilka Weikusat, Jan Eichler, Nicolas Stoll, Johanna Kerch, Olaf Eisen, Daniela Jansen, and Angelika Humbert
09:00–09:02 |
PICO4.12 |
Carlos Martin, Alex Brisbourne, Jonathan Kingslake, Robert Mulvaney, Julius Rix, Catherine Ritz, Keith Nicholls, Reinhard Drews, Katrin Lindback, and Kenichi Matsuoka
09:02–09:04 |
PICO4.13 |
Franz Lutz, Jennifer Eccles, David Prior, and Christina Hulbe
09:04–09:06 |
PICO4.14 |
Christian Wild, Oliver Marsh, Reinhard Drews, and Wolfgang Rack
09:06–09:08 |
PICO4.15 |
Denis Lombardi, Irina Gorodetskaya, Guilhem Barruol, and Thierry Camelbeeck
Coffee break
Chairperson: F. Koch / E. Smith
10:45–10:47 |
PICO4.1 |
Rebecca Schlegel, Anja Diez, Henning Löwe, Christoph Mayer, Astrid Lambrecht, Johannes Freitag, Heinrich Miller, Coen Hofstede, and Olaf Eisen
10:47–10:49 |
PICO4.2 |
Rebecca Gugerli, Nadine Salzmann, Matthias Huss, and Darin Desilets
Englacial and subglacial
10:49–10:51 |
PICO4.3 |
Marnie Bryant, Elisa Mantelli, Jenny Suckale, Davide Castelletti, Helene Seroussi, Martin Siegert, and Dustin Schroeder
10:51–10:53 |
PICO4.4 |
Gregory Church, Andreas Bauder, Satyan Singh, Lasse Rabenstein, and Hansruedi Maurer
10:53–10:55 |
PICO4.5 |
Paul Winberry, Howard Conway, Michelle Koutnilk, and Carlos Martin
10:55–10:57 |
PICO4.6 |
Benjamin Hills, Knut Christianson, Nicholas Holschuh, and Sridhar Anandakrishnan
10:57–10:59 |
PICO4.7 |
Coen Hofstede, Poul Christoffersen, Rickard Pettersson, Adrian McCallum, Tj Young, Olaf Eisen, and Emma Smith
10:59–11:01 |
PICO4.8 |
Kristaps Lamsters, Jānis Karušs, Māris Krievāns, and Jurijs Ješkins
11:01–11:03 |
PICO4.9 |
Siobhan Killingbeck, Adam Booth, Phil Livermore, Landis West, Benedict Reinardy, and Atle Nesje
11:03–11:05 |
PICO4.10 |
Anatolii Chernov, Denis Pishniak, Kristaps Lamsters, Jānis Karušs, and Māris Krievāns
11:05–11:07 |
PICO4.11 |
Melchior Grab, Lisbeth Langhammer, Andreas Bauder, Lasse Rabenstein, Lino Schmid, and Hansruedi Maurer
11:07–11:09 |
PICO4.12 |
Michael Christoffersen, John W. Holt, Martin Truffer, and Christopher F. Larsen
11:09–11:11 |
PICO4.13 |
Dustin Schroeder, Davide Castelletti, and Elisa Mantelli
11:11–11:13 |
PICO4.14 |
Davide Castelletti, Dustin Schroeder, Tom Jordan, and Duncan Young