AS1.16 | PICO

The polar climate system is strongly affected by interactions between the atmosphere and the cryosphere. Feedback mechanisms between snow, land ice, sea ice and the atmosphere, such as blowing snow, ice melt, polynya formation, and sea ice production play an important role. Atmosphere-ice interactions are also triggered by synoptic weather phenomena such as cold air outbreaks, katabatic winds, polar lows, atmospheric rivers, Foehn winds and heatwaves. However, our understanding of these processes is still incomplete, and to fully capture how atmosphere, land ice and sea ice are coupled on different spatial and temporal scales, remains a major challenge.
This session will provide a setting to foster discussion on the atmosphere-ice coupling in both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres. It will offer the opportunity to review newly acquired knowledge, identify gaps, and which instruments, tools, and studies can be designed to address these open questions.
We invite contributions on all observational and modelling aspects of Arctic and Antarctic meteorology and climatology that address atmospheric interactions with the cryosphere. This may include studies of atmospheric dynamics that influence sea-ice dynamics or ice-sheet mass balance, or investigations into the variability of the atmospheric circulation such as polar jets, the circumpolar trough, storm tracks and their link to changes in the cryosphere.

Co-organized as CR3.09
Convener: Diana Francis | Co-conveners: Amélie Kirchgaessner, Till Wagner
| Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
PICO spot 5a

Thursday, 11 April 2019

PICO spot 5a
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:15–16:25 |
PICO5a.1 |
Jonathan Wille, Vincent Favier, Ambroise Dufour, Irina Gorodetskaya, John Turner, Cécile Agosta, and Francis Codron
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:25–16:27 |
PICO5a.2 |
| Highlight
Ella Gilbert, Andrew Orr, Tom Lachlan-Cope, John C. King, and Ian A. Renfrew
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:29–16:31 |
PICO5a.4 |
Rajasweta Datta, Marwan Katurji, and Peyman Zawar-Reza
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:31–16:33 |
PICO5a.5 |
Amélie Kirchgaessner and John King
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:33–16:35 |
PICO5a.6 |
Étienne Vignon, Olivier Traullé, and Alexis Berne
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:37–16:39 |
PICO5a.8 |
Gerit Birnbaum, Konstantin Krüger, Christof Lüpkes, Michael Schäfer, Jan Melchior Van Wessem, and Bernd Loose
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:39–16:41 |
PICO5a.9 |
Keith Bower, Victoria Trost, Paul Connolly, Tom Choularton, and Sebastian O'Shea
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:41–16:43 |
PICO5a.10 |
| solicited
Jenny Turton, Thomas Mölg, and Dirk van As
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:43–16:45 |
PICO5a.11 |
James Pope, Tom Bracegirdle, Ian Renfrew, and Andy Elvidge
Chairperson: Diana FRANCIS
16:45–16:47 |
PICO5a.12 |
Heini Wernli, Emmanuel Rouges, Franziska Aemisegger, and Lukas Papritz