CR3.01 | PICO

Snow avalanches range among the most prominent natural hazards which threaten mountain communities worldwide. This session is devoted to avalanche formation, forecasting and detection, and the dynamics of dense and powder snow avalanches and their accompanying transitional regimes. The first focus is on improving our understanding of avalanche formation processes and to foster the application to avalanche forecasting. We therefore welcome contributions from novel field, laboratory and numerical studies on topics including, but not limited to, the mechanical properties of snow, snow cover simulations, snow instability assessment, meteorological driving factors including drifting and blowing snow, spatial variability, avalanche release mechanics, remote avalanche detection and avalanche forecasting. The second focus is the interaction of snow avalanches with, and impact on, vulnerable elements, such as buildings, protection dams, forests, and roads. We welcome novel contributions from field, laboratory and numerical studies on topics including, but not limited to, avalanche dynamics and related processes, physical vulnerability of structures impacted by snow avalanches, avalanche hazard zoning and avalanche mitigation strategies. Furthermore, we solicit novel contributions from the field of granular flows, viscoplastic flows, density currents, turbulent flows, as well as contributions from other gravity flows communities, which can improve our understanding and modeling of snow avalanche propagation and their interaction with natural or man-made structures.

Convener: Alec van Herwijnen | Co-conveners: Bernardino Chiaia, Thierry Faug, Jan-Thomas Fischer, Florence Naaim-Bouvet
| Tue, 09 Apr, 16:15–18:00
PICO spot 1

Tuesday, 09 April 2019

PICO spot 1
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:15–16:17 |
PICO1.1 |
Brice Kabore and Bernhard Peters
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:17–16:19 |
PICO1.2 |
| Highlight
Multi-scale fracture mechanisms in snow
Barbara Frigo, Alessandro P. Fantilli, and Bernardino Chiaia
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:19–16:21 |
PICO1.3 |
Valerio De Biagi, Monica Barbero, Fabrizio Barpi, Mauro Borri-Brunetto, and Oronzo Pallara
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:21–16:23 |
PICO1.4 |
Gregoire Bobillier, Achille Capelli, Alec van Herwijnen, Jürg Dual, Bastian Bergfeld, Johan Gaume, and Jürg Schweizer
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:23–16:25 |
PICO1.5 |
Bastian Bergfeld, Alec van Herwijnen, Jürg Dual, and Jürg Schweizer
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:25–16:27 |
PICO1.6 |
| Highlight
Bettina Richter, Alec van Herwijnen, Mathias Rotach, and Jürg Schweizer
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:27–16:29 |
PICO1.7 |
Florence Naaim-Bouvet, Gilbert Guyomarc'h, Hervé Bellot, Vincent Vionnet, Yannick Deliot, Firmin Fontaine, Hugo Merzisen, Isabelle Gouttevin, and Mohamed Naaim
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:29–16:31 |
PICO1.8 |
Andreas Eberl, Andreas Gobiet, Arnold Studeregger, and Ingrid Reiweger
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:31–16:33 |
PICO1.9 |
Stefan Steger, Carlo Marin, Sarah Nolting, Claudia Notarnicola, Marc Zebisch, and Stefan Schneiderbauer
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:33–16:35 |
PICO1.10 |
| Highlight
Christine Seupel, Alec van Herwijnen, Matthias Heck, and Jürg Schweizer
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:35–16:37 |
PICO1.11 |
| Highlight
Hervé Bellot, Thierry Faug, Florence Naaim-Bouvet, Emmanuel Thibert, Firmin Fontaine, Frédéric Ousset, and Mohamed Naaim
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:37–16:39 |
PICO1.12 |
| Highlight
Thierry Faug
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:39–16:41 |
PICO1.13 |
| Highlight
Michael Kyburz, Betty Sovilla, Johan Gaume, and Christophe Ancey
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:41–16:43 |
PICO1.14 |
Jan-Thomas Fischer, Roland Kaitna, Kilian Heil, and Ingrid Reiweger
Chairperson: Ingrid Reiweger
16:43–16:45 |
PICO1.15 |
Dieter Issler, Zhongqiang Liu, and Matthias Rauter