CL4.18 | PICO

Large-scale atmospheric circulation dynamics are the major driver of near surface climatic and environmental variability. Synoptic climatology examines atmospheric circulation dynamics and their relationship with near surface environmental variables. Within synoptic climatological analyses, a wide variety of methods is utilized to characterize atmospheric circulation (e.g., circulation and weather type classification, regime analysis, teleconnection indices). Various linear and non-linear approaches (e.g., multiple regression, canonical correlation, neural networks) are applied to relate the circulation dynamics to diverse climatic and environmental elements (e.g., air temperature, air pollution, floods).

The session welcomes contributions from the whole field of synoptic climatology. This includes application studies for varying regions, time periods (past, present, future) and target variables and in particular contributions on the development and the comparison of methods (e.g., varying circulation type classifications) and conceptual approaches (e.g., circulation types versus circulation regimes).

Co-organized as AS4.15
Convener: Christoph Beck | Co-conveners: Andreas Philipp, Pedro M. Sousa, Jan Stryhal
| Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15
PICO spot 5a

Tuesday, 09 April 2019

PICO spot 5a
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:30–08:40 |
PICO5a.1 |
Radan Huth
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:40–08:42 |
PICO5a.2 |
Jan Stryhal, Romana Beranová, and Radan Huth
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:42–08:44 |
PICO5a.3 |
Christian Merkenschlager, Elke Hertig, and Christoph Beck
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:44–08:46 |
PICO5a.4 |
Romana Beranova and Radan Huth
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:46–08:48 |
PICO5a.5 |
Vladimír Piskala and Radan Huth
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:50–08:52 |
PICO5a.7 |
Lucian Sfîcă, Christoph Beck, Andrei Niţă, Andreas Philipp, Mirela Voiculescu, and Marius-Victor Bîrsan
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:52–08:54 |
PICO5a.8 |
Muhammad E. E. Hassim and Bertrand Timbal
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:54–08:56 |
PICO5a.9 |
Carlos C. DaCamara and Ricardo M. Trigo
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:56–08:58 |
PICO5a.10 |
Eva Plavcová and Jan Stryhal
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
08:58–09:00 |
PICO5a.11 |
David Pino, Juan Carlos Peña, Salvador Gil-Guirado, Alfredo Pérez-Morales, and Francisco López-Martínez
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
09:00–09:02 |
PICO5a.12 |
Magdalena Mittermeier, Marco Braun, Michael Hofstätter, Yu Wang, and Ralf Ludwig
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
09:02–09:04 |
PICO5a.13 |
Selina Thanheiser, Markus Homann, Christoph Beck, Andreas Philipp, and Jucundus Jacobeit
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa
09:04–09:06 |
PICO5a.14 |
Annette Straub, Stefanie Seubert, Athanasios Damialis, Michael Gerstlauer, Christoph Beck, and Andreas Philipp
Chairperson: Pedro Sousa