The North Atlantic exhibits a high level of natural variability from interannual to centennial time scales, making it difficult to extract trends from observational time series. Climate models, however, predict major changes in this region, which in turn will influence sea level and climate, especially in western Europe and North America. In the last years, several projects have been focused on the Atlantic circulation changes, for instance OVIDE, RACE, OSNAP, and ACSIS. Another important issue is the interaction between the atmosphere and the ocean as well as the cryosphere with the ocean, and how this affects the climate.
We welcome contributions from observers and modelers on the following topics:

-- climate relevant processes in the North Atlantic region in the atmosphere, ocean, and cryosphere
-- response of the atmosphere to changes in the North Atlantic
-- atmosphere - ocean coupling in the North Atlantic realm on time scales from years to centuries (observations, theory and coupled GCMs)
-- interpretation of observed variability in the atmosphere and the ocean in the North Atlantic sector
-- Comparison of observed and simulated climate variability in the North Atlantic sector and Europe
-- Dynamics of the Atlantic meridional overturning circulation
-- variability in the ocean and the atmosphere in the North Atlantic sector on a broad range of time scales
-- changes in adjacent seas related to changes in the North Atlantic
-- role of water mass transformation and circulation changes on anthropogenic carbon and other parameters
-- linkage between the observational records and proxies from the recent past

Invited Speakers: Professor Ric Williams, University of Liverpool, UK
Dr. Arnaud Czaja, Imperial College, London, UK

Co-organized as AS1.17/CL2.02
Convener: Richard Greatbatch | Co-conveners: Monika Rhein, Bablu Sinha
| Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–18:00
Room N2
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X4

Attendance time: Wednesday, 10 April 2019, 08:30–10:15 | Hall X4

Chairperson: 15542
X4.29 |
Robert Pickart, Michael Spall, Peigen Lin, Dana Mastropole, Hedinn Valdimarsson, Thomas Haine, Mattia Almansi, and Wilken von Appen
Chairperson: 15542
X4.30 |
The role of winter blocking anticyclones in the formation of the wind waves in the northern seas
(withdrawn after no-show)
Natalia Sokolikhina, Galina Surkova, Victor Arkhipkin, and Elena Sokolikhina
Chairperson: 15542
X4.31 |
Margarita Markina, Joshua Studholme, and Sergey Gulev
Chairperson: 15542
X4.32 |
Victor Estella Perez, Juliette Mignot, Eric Guilyardi, and Didier Swingedouw
Chairperson: 15542
Chairperson: 15542
X4.34 |
Sijia Zou, M. Susan Lozier, Feili Li, and Laura Jackson
Chairperson: 15542
X4.35 |
Feili Li and Susan Lozier and the OSNAP Observations Team
Chairperson: 15542
X4.36 |
Mattia Almansi, Thomas W. N. Haine, and Renske Gelderloos
Chairperson: 15542
X4.37 |
Marion Devilliers, Didier Swingedouw, Juliette Mignot, Julie Deshayes, and Gilles Garric
Chairperson: 15542
Chairperson: 15542
X4.39 |
Tsvetelina Velichkova and Natalya Kilifarska
Chairperson: 15542
X4.40 |
Gerard McCarthy, Leonard Borchert, Johanna Baehr, and Wolfgang Muller
Chairperson: 15542
X4.41 |
Dmitry Sidorenko, Nikolay Koldunov, Sergey Danilov, Patrick Scholz, Dmitry Sein, Tido Semmler, Thomas Rackow, Helge Goessling, Natalja Rakowsky, William Cabos, and Thomas Jung
Chairperson: 15542
Chairperson: 15542
X4.43 |
Sotiria Georgiou, Carine G. van der Boog, Nils Brüggemann, Stefanie L. Ypma, Julie D. Pietrzak, and Caroline A. Katsman
Chairperson: 15542
Chairperson: 15542
X4.45 |
Isabela Le Bras, Fiamma Straneo, James Holte, and Penny Holliday
Chairperson: 15542
Chairperson: 15542
X4.47 |
Manuela Köllner, Martin Moritz, Birgit Klein, Dagmar Kieke, Holger Klein, and Monika Rhein
Chairperson: 15542
X4.48 |
Greg Koman, Adam Houk, M. Femke de Jong, and William Johns
Chairperson: 15542
X4.49 |
Torge Martin, Jan Harlaß, and Arne Biastoch
Chairperson: 15542
X4.50 |
Florian Börgel, Claudia Frauen, Thomas Neumann, Semjon Schimanke, and H.E.Markus Meier
Chairperson: 15542
X4.51 |
The Tripole SST Mode in the North Atlantic Ocean and ENSO Association with Precipitation over Northwest China
Zhou Liantong
Chairperson: 15542
X4.52 |
Mehdi Pasha Karami, Mahyar Mohtadi, Qiong Zhang, Torben Koenigk, and Léon Chafik
Chairperson: 15542
X4.53 |
Delphine Lobelle, Claudie Beaulieu, Valerie Livina, and Florian Sévellec
Chairperson: 15542
X4.54 |
Anne-Marie Wefing, Maxi Castrillejo, Núria Casacuberta, Marcus Christl, Christof Vockenhuber, Michiel Rutgers van der Loeff, and Pascale Lherminier
Chairperson: 15542
X4.55 |
Carolina Ernani da Silva, Caroline Katsman, and Miren Vizcaino
Chairperson: 15542
X4.56 |
Jacob Opher, Alexander Brearley, Stephen Dye, Ian Renfrew, Michael Meredith, and Robert Pickart
Chairperson: 15542
X4.57 |
Eleanor Frajka-Williams, Shane Elipot, Matthias Lankhorst, Ben Moat, and David Smeed
Chairperson: 15542
X4.58 |
A analysis of the Northern Atlantic typical wind field patterns and large-scale atmospheric and oceanic conditions
Kreso Pandzic, Tanja Likso, and Nastjenka Supic
Chairperson: 15542
X4.59 |
Heather Furey, Amy Bower, and Andree Ramsey
Chairperson: 15542
X4.60 |
Joe Osborne, Mat Collins, James Screen, and Stephen Thomson
Chairperson: 15542
X4.62 |
Stavroula Biri and Birgit Klein
Chairperson: 15542
X4.63 |
Peter Spooner, David Thornalley, Delia Oppo, Alan Fox, Svetlana Radionovskaya, Kitty Green, Neil Rose, Tanya Monica, Laura Thrower, Robbie Mallett, Emma Cooper, and Murray Roberts
Chairperson: 15542
X4.64 |
Darren Rayner, Ben Moat, Eleanor Frajka-Williams, David Smeed, Peter Brown, Lidia Carracedo, Elaine McDonagh, Hannah Wright, Steve Mack, Peter Foden, John Walk, and Chris Balfour