Hydrological extremes (droughts and floods), have major impacts on society and ecosystems and are expected to increase in frequency and severity with climate change. Although both at the extreme end of the hydrological spectrum, floods and droughts are governed by different processes, which means that they operate on different spatial and temporal scales and that different analysis methods and indices are needed to characterise them. But there are also many similarities and links between the two extremes that are increasingly being studied.

This general session on hydrological extremes aims to bring together the two communities in order to learn from the similarities and differences between flood and drought research. We aim to increase the understanding of the governing processes of both hydrological extremes, find robust ways of modelling and analysing floods and droughts, assess the influence of global change (including climate change, land use change, and other anthropogenic influences) on floods and droughts, and study the socio-economic and environmental impacts of hydrological extremes. We welcome submissions of insightful studies of floods or droughts, and especially encourage abstracts that cover both extremes.

This session is jointly organised by the Panta Rhei Working Groups “Understanding Flood Changes”, “Changes in Flood Risk”, and “Drought in the Anthropocene” and will further stimulate scientific discussion on change detection and attribution of hydrological extremes and the feedbacks between hydrological extremes and society. The session is linked to the European Low Flow and Drought Group of UNESCO´s IHP-VIII FRIEND-Water Program, which aims to promote international drought research. Excellent submissions of early-career researchers that are deemed important contributions to the session topics will be classified as solicited talks, as a "label of excellence".

Convener: Anne Van Loon | Co-conveners: Gregor Laaha, Louise Slater, Jan Szolgay, Lena M. Tallaksen
| Mon, 08 Apr, 08:30–12:30, 14:00–15:45
Room B
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall A

Attendance time: Monday, 8 April 2019, 16:15–18:00 | Hall A

Chairperson: Anne Van Loon
Hall A
A.75 |
Massimiliano Zappa, Manuela Brunner, Benoît Hingray, and Anne-Catherine Favre
Hall A
A.76 |
Juan Diego Giraldo-Osorio, David Enrique Trujillo-Osorio, and Oscar Manuel Báez-Villanueva
Hall A
A.77 |
Romana Marková, Silvia Kohnová, Mária Ďurigová, and Juraj Parajka
Hall A
A.78 |
Qian Cao, Alexander Gershunov, Marty Ralph, and Dennis Lettenmaier
Hall A
A.79 |
Yong-Tak Kim, Hong-Geun Choi, Minkyu Jung, and Hyun-Han Kwon
Hall A
Hall A
A.80 |
Hong-Geun Choi, Yong-Tak Kim, Dinh-Huy Nguyen, and Hyun-Han Kwon
Hall A
A.81 |
Jin-Guk Kim, Tae-Jeong Kim, Sumiya Uranchimeg, and Hyun-Han Kwon
Hall A
A.82 |
Gridwise Analysis of Trends in Precipitation and Temperature Indices for Climate Change Detection across India
(withdrawn after no-show)
Sachidanand Kumar, Kironmala Chanda, and Srinivas Pasupuleti
Hall A
A.83 |
Getachew Tegegne and Young-Oh Kim
Hall A
A.84 |
| solicited
Paul O'Connor, Conor Murphy, and Tom Matthews
Hall A
A.85 |
Delineating the synchronicity of flood and drought events using uncertainty analysis in palaeoflood records
John Vitkovsky, Jacky Croke, and Robert Denham
Hall A
Hall A
A.87 |
Xiaoli Yang, Mengru Zhang, Xiaogang He, Liliang Ren, Yuqian Wang, Xiaohan Yu, Ming Pan, Zhongwang Wei, and Justin Sheffield
Hall A
A.88 |
Pavel Kukla and Hana Kourkova
Hall A
Hall A
A.90 |
Maria Teresa De Nardo, Stefano Segadelli, and Federico Grazzini
Hall A
Hall A
A.92 |
Sigrid Joergensen Bakke, Monica Ionita, and Lena Merete Tallaksen
Hall A
Hall A
A.94 |
Rita Pongracz, Judit Bartholy, Anna Kis, Milan Gocic, Slavisa Trajkovic, and Mladen Milanovic
Hall A
A.96 |
Mayra Peña-Guerrero, Alexandra Nauditt, Carlos Muñoz-Robles, Lars Ribbe, and Francisco Meza
Hall A
A.97 |
Yannis Markonis, Oldrich Rakovec, Rohini Kumar, Petr Máca, and Martin Hanel
Hall A
A.98 |
Benedikt Heudorfer, Anne Van Loon, John Bloomfield, and David Hannah
Hall A
A.99 |
Álvaro Rojas, Alexandra Nauditt, Christian Birkel, and Lars Ribbe
Hall A
A.100 |
Felipe Fileni, Shunan Feng, Johannes Erikson, Rickard Pettersson, and Mattias Winterdahl