The quality of predictions of weather and climate depends on both resolution and complexity of the models that are used. However, resolution and complexity are limited by the computational performance that is available on today's supercomputers. While weather and climate models run on some of the fastest supercomputers of the world, models typically fail to run close to peak performance such that there is still room for a significant speed-up if efficiency is improved. The increase in parallelisation in high performance computing and the availability of various computing platforms is imposing significant challenges for the community to find the optimal hardware/model configuration and to achieve the best performance. On the other hand, the evaluation of high resolution simulations is often tedious due to large data volumes, limited statistic that is affordable and changed model behaviour that needs to be studied (e.g. if convection or eddies are resolved explicitly or if non-hydrostatic equations need to be used).
These challenges can only be addressed appropriately in a close collaboration between Computing and Earth System Scientists. This session aims to bring together scientists who run and evaluate atmosphere and ocean models with high resolution and complexity as well as scientists who enable these models to run as efficiently as possible on existing and future high performance computing architectures (regarding both model development and model optimisation). The session will also be an opportunity for scientists from the EU projects PRIMAVERA, ESCAPE and ESiWACE as well as HighResMIP from CMIP6 to meet and interact.

V. Balaji from Princeton University will be our keynote speaker invited by the ESiWACE EU Horizon2020 COE (grant number 675191).

Co-organized as CL5.05/ESSI1.2/NP1.4/OS4.20
Convener: Peter Düben | Co-conveners: Reindert Haarsma, Xavier Lapillonne, Malcolm Roberts, Pier-Luigi Vidale
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room F1
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X5

Attendance time: Thursday, 11 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall X5

Chairperson: Peter Dueben
X5.206 |
Malcolm Roberts, Pier Luigi Vidale, Helene Hewitt, Benoit Vanniere, Rein Haarsma, Torben Koenigk, Louis-Philippe Caron, Jin-Song von Storch, Christopher Roberts, Tido Semmler, Adrian New, Alessio Bellucci, and Laurent Terray
X5.207 |
Reindert Haarsma, Dimitris Kapetanakis, and Alex Baker
X5.209 |
Nadine Wieters and Dirk Barbi
X5.210 |
Manu Thomas, Abhay Devasthale, Tristan L'Ecuyer, Shiyu Wang, Torben Koenigk, and Klaus Wyser
X5.212 |
Jorge R. Urrego-Blanco, Balu Nadiga, and Mark A. Taylor
X5.213 |
Reinhard Schiemann, Panos Athanasiadis, and Pier Luigi Vidale
X5.214 |
Jan Ackmann, Peter Dueben, and Piotr Smolarkiewicz
X5.215 |
Milan Klöwer, Peter Düben, and Tim Palmer
X5.216 |
Benoit Vanniere, Malcolm Roberts, Kevin Hodges, Pier Luigi Vidale, and Marie-Estelle Demory
X5.217 |
Remko Klaver, Rein Haarsma, Pier Luigi Vidale, and Wilco Hazeleger