Natural stones are the main material used in architectonic heritage. Our session deals with those natural stone types that have achieved important use and significant recognition in human culture. Their recognition will promote public and policy-maker interest in stone built heritage, encourage the use of local natural stone and ensure the availability of the natural stone required for the maintenance of the built heritage and the quality of new buildings. This session is promoted by the Heritage Stones Subcommision, an IUGS subcommission within the Geoheritage Commission. It encourages contributions for the proposed thematic issue: natural stones and heritage and its potential application and information on possible stones from all over the world. We will as well accept contributions on issues related to the importance of using original natural stones in the restoration and conservation of historical buildings, and other issues associated with Geoheritage such as historical quarries and quarry landscape. This session will also emphasize the importance of Heritage Stones in the preservation of World Heritage sites.

Contributions from previous EGU editions are now published in highly rated journals; Geological Society of London Special Publications (SP407: Global Heritage Stone: Towards International Recognition of Building and Ornamental Stones), Episodes Special Issue on Heritage Stones (volume 38-2, June 2015), Geoscience Canada (volume 43(1), March 2016), Geoheritage (2018). Selected contributions to this EGU 2019 will be considered for publication in another Special Issue for a well rated journal.

Partial funding is available for registration and travelling expenses, through the UNESCO IGCP-637 "HERITAGE STONE DESIGNATION". Please contact convener for further details or visit our web site for details on eligibility:

Co-organized as EOS11.2
Convener: Dolores Pereira | Co-conveners: Gurmeet Kaur, Maria Heloisa Frasca
| Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–17:55
Room 0.94
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X1

Attendance time: Thursday, 11 April 2019, 10:45–12:30 | Hall X1

Chairperson: Lola Pereira, Gurmeet Kaur, Heloisa Frascá
X1.154 |
| Highlight
Dolores Pereira
X1.155 |
Parminder Kaur, Gurmeet Kaur, Seema Singh, Om Bhargava, Kireet Acharya, Sanchit Garg, Amritpaul Singh, Rakesh Giri Goswami, and Anuvinder Ahuja
X1.156 |
Amritpaul Singh, Gurmeet Kaur, Seema Singh, Kireet Acharya, Manoj Pandit, Raymond Duraiswami, Som Nath Thankur, Sanchit Garg, Parminder Kaur, Rakesh Giri Goswami, and Anuvinder Ahuja
X1.157 |
Gurmeet Kaur, Victor Cardenes, Om Bhargava, Uday Sharma, Som Nath Thakur, Jeesu Jaskanwar Singh, Sanchit Garg, Amritpaul Singh, Asifa Kamboj, and Parminder Kaur
X1.158 |
Johannes Miocic, Bianca Burkhardt, and Wolfgang Werner
X1.160 |
Luis Lopes, Tiago Alves, José Carlos Kullberg, Ruben Martins, and António Prego
X1.162 |
Antônio Costa and Eliane Del Lama
X1.163 |
Daniel Ballesteros, Aude Painchault, Beatriz Puente-Berdasco, Carole Nehme, Dominique Todisco, J. Ignacio García-Alonso, Mariacristina Varano, and Damase Mouralis