The geometry and evolution of faults can be influenced by a range of different factors, including the presence of pre-existing structures or structural inheritance, over a range of spatial and temporal scales. Pre-existing structural heterogeneities, which are imparted through prior phases of deformation, are present across all scales throughout the lithosphere; from discrete fabrics at the centimetre scale to hundreds of kilometre scale rift systems and changes in lithospheric thickness. Fault growth can be controlled by factors including mechanical layering or variation, strain localisation, regional and local stress changes and reactivation of earlier structures – each of these factors are likely to influence the interaction between faults in a tectonic system. Therefore, by integrating our understanding of fault growth and interaction with respect to structural inheritance and ultimately earthquake hazard, over a range of spatial and temporal scales, will lead to greater understanding of the fundamental processes that govern fault behaviour.

Convener: Zoe Mildon | Co-conveners: Thomas Phillips, Christopher Jackson, Thilo Wrona, Alexander L. Peace
| Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room K2
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X2

Attendance time: Tuesday, 9 April 2019, 16:15–18:00 | Hall X2

Chairperson: Thilo Wrona
X2.171 |
Folarin Kolawole, Thomas Phillips, Estella Atekwana, and Christopher Jackson
X2.172 |
Christian Schiffer, Anthony G. Doré, Gillian Foulger, Dieter Franke, Laurent Geoffroy, Laurent Gernigon, Bob Holdsworth, Nick Kusznir, Erik Lundin, Ken McCaffrey, Alex Peace, Kenni D. Petersen, Thomas Phillips, Randell Stephenson, Martyn S. Stoker, and Kim Welford
X2.174 |
Conor O'Sullivan, Muhammad Mudasar Saqab, Efstratios Delogkos, Conrad Childs, John Walsh, and Patrick Shannon
X2.175 |
Thomas Scheiber, Giulio Viola, Roelant van der Lelij, Morgan Ganerød, and Annina Margreth
X2.176 |
Emanuele Scaramuzzo, Franz Livio, Andrea Di Capua, Pablo Granado, Pablo Santolaria, and Marco Snidero
X2.177 |
Nico D'Intino, Vittorio Scisciani, and Paolo Esestime
X2.178 |
Cédric Bulois, Louise Watremez, Manuel Pubellier, Patrick Shannon, Nicolas Chamot-Rooke, and Jacques Deverchère
X2.179 |
Anna Del Ben, Lorenzo Bonini, Valentina Brunati, Mattia Di Giusto, Matteo Tedesco, Giulia Areggi, Gian Andrea Pini, and Maurizio Ponton
X2.180 |
David Fernández-Blanco, Gino de Gelder, Robin Lacassin, and Rolando Armijo
X2.181 |
Massimo Nespoli, Maurizio Bonafede, and Maria Elina Belardinelli
X2.182 |
Conrad Childs, Efstratios Delogkos, Tom Manzocchi, and John Walsh
X2.183 |
Atle Rotevatn, Christopher A.-L. Jackson, Anette B.M. Tvedt, Rebecca Bell, Ingvild Blaekkan, Thomas Berg Kristensen, Anna Ksienzyk, Klaus Wemmer, Gijs Henstra, Ivar Midtkandal, Sten-Andreas Grundvag, and Arild Andresen