The advent of novel technologies have boosted our capability of acquiring new evidences that faults behavior is various and extremely sensitive to a large number of parameters. These evidences are supported in natural earthquakes by the occurence of a large pletora of events spanning from slow to fast earthquakes, precursory slips, non volcanic tremors and low frequency earthquakes. The aim of this session is to convey interdisciplinary studies on fault behaviour and processes controlling the propagation of slip instabilities in rocks, granular materials and/or laboratory analogs; we invite contributions at the frontiers between Rock Mechanics, Models, Seismology, Tectonics and Mineralogy dealing with either slow, fast or transient evolution of earthquakes and earthquake sequences in shallow and deep environments; we welcome studies performed at the laboratory and field scale, providing insights on earthquake evolution and/or constraining observed seismological statistical laws like Omori’s and Gutenberg-Richter’s; we welcome innovative techniques that help the observations and take advantage of high-speed imaging and continuous acoustic emission streaming data.

Co-organized as EMRP1.9/GMPV7.25/SM2.9
Convener: Marco Maria Scuderi | Co-conveners: Giulio Di Toro, Pierre Dublanchet, Francois Passelegue, Elena Spagnuolo
| Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room K2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X2

Attendance time: Friday, 12 April 2019, 08:30–10:15 | Hall X2

Chairperson: Passelegue, Di Toro
X2.156 |
Simon G. Marthe, Stefan B. Nielsen, Stefano Giani, Robert Bird, and Giulio Di Toro
X2.157 |
Agathe Eijsink, Matt Ikari, Laura Wallace, Demian Saffer, Philip Barnes, Ingo Pecher, Katerina Petronotis, Leah LeVay, IODP Expedition 375 Scientists, and IODP Expedition 372 Scientists
X2.158 |
Alexander Roesner, Matt Ikari, Katja S­ta­nis­low­ski, and Achim Kopf
X2.159 |
Katja Stanislowski, Alexander Roesner, Agathe M. Eijsink, and Matt J. Ikari
X2.161 |
Rodrigo Gomila, Erik Jensen, Michele Fondriest, Giulio Di Toro, Thomas Mitchell, Andrea Bistacchi, Carlo Sommacampagna, Simone Masoch, Giulia Magnarini, and José Cembrano
X2.162 |
Jonathan Bedford, Marcos Moreno, Zhiguo Deng, Christian Sippl, Juan Carlos Baez, and Onno Oncken
X2.163 |
Ting-Wei Wu, Nabil Sultan, Sebastien Garziglia, Antonio Cattaneo, and Achim Kopf
X2.164 |
Simone Masoch, Michele Fondriest, and Giulio Di Toro
X2.165 |
Jérôme Aubry, Alexandre Schubnel, François-Xavier Passelègue, Julien Gasc, Marine Page, Samson Marty, Damien Deldicque, and Javier Escartin
X2.166 |
Stefano Aretusini, Arantzazu Nuñez Cascajero, Elena Spagnuolo, Alberto Tapetado, Carmen Vazquez, and Giulio Di Toro
X2.167 |
Elisa Tinti, Marco Maria Scuderi, Cristiano Collettini, and Massimo Cocco
X2.168 |
Alfons Berger and Marco Herwegh
X2.171 |
Paola Vannucchi, Jason Morgan, Alexander P. Clarke, Audrey Ougier-Simonin, and Albert de Montserrat
X2.172 |
Ricardo Tomás, Philip Benson, Giacomo Pozzi, John Wheeler, and Nicola De Paola
X2.174 |
Alexis Cartwright-Taylor, Ian B. Butler, Florian Fusseis, Ian Main, Andrew King, and Michael Flynn
X2.175 |
Stefan Nielsen, Chris Harbord, Nicola De paola, Daniel Faulkner, and Francois Passelegue