Software is critical to the success of science. Creating and using Free and Open Source Software (FOSS) fosters contributions from the scientific community, creates a peer-reviewed and consensus-oriented environment, and promotes sustainability of science infrastructures.
Providing open access to source code also permits reuse of data, reproducibility of science, and creates scientific transparency. Open science is only possible when access to data is open, and data is analysed using open source software. This requires taking responsibility for software development, and adopting stewardship practices for managing, processing and disseminating scientific data products and related services.
This session will also discuss the publication and citation of scientific free and open source software as part of the general record of science and as part of the track record of the scientists who create or apply FOSS tools in their research.
This session will look at the role of FOSS in the geosciences with a special emphasis on the interoperability among established and developing FOSS-tools within geoinformatics. The session will be a forum for the latest advances in FOSS-empowered research, for successful applications of existing FOSS tools for geoscientific tasks, as well as for new developments in geoscience-related to FOSS.

Convener: Jens Klump | Co-conveners: Bernadette Fritzsch, Peter Löwe, Edzer Pebesma
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X1

Attendance time: Friday, 12 April 2019, 08:30–10:15 | Hall X1

Chairperson: Jens Klump
X1.51 |
Niels Drost, Rolf Hut, Nick van de Giesen, Ben van Werkhoven, Jerom Aerts, Inti Pelupessy, Berend Weel, Yifat Dzigan, Martine de Vos, Stefan Verhoeven, Gijs van den Oord, Ronald van Haren, Janneke van der Zwaan, and Maarten van Meersbergen
Hall X1
X1.52 |
John van de Vegte, Rutger Boonstra, Marco van den Berge, John Kambeel, Wim van Moosel, Ernst de Vreede, Maarten Plieger, Jan Koerts, Marcel Molendijk, and Wim Som de Cerff
Hall X1
X1.53 |
Dorit Kerschke, Hannes Fuchs, Angela Schäfer, Philipp Fischer, Gisbert Breitbach, Ralf Kunkel, Claas Faber, Frank Neidl, Martin Kohler, Thomas Schnicke, and Jan Bumberger and the MOSES Data Management Team
Hall X1
X1.54 |
Eliza Teodorescu, Marius Echim, and Catalin Negrea
Hall X1
Hall X1
X1.56 |
Thomas Huang
Hall X1
X1.57 |
George P. Petropoulos, Vasileios Anagnostopoulos, Dionissios Hristopulos, and Panagiotis Partsinevelos
Hall X1
Hall X1
X1.59 |
Lars Bilke, Dmitri Naumov, and Olaf Kolditz
Hall X1
X1.60 |
Linda See, Christoph Perger, Christopher Dresel, Moemen Saad, Anto Subash, Brice Mora, Mathieu Pascaud, Frédéric Ligeard, Neha Joshi, and Steffen Fritz
Hall X1
Hall X1
X1.62 |
Ernst de Vreede, Maarten Plieger, Saskia Wagenaar, and Ian van der Neut
Hall X1
X1.63 |
Massimiliano Cannata, Damiana Ravasi, Milan Antonovic, Daniele Strigaro, Andrea Danani, Mauro Tonolla, and Laura Azzimonti
Hall X1
X1.64 |
Daniele Strigaro, Massimiliano Cannata, and Milan Antonovic
Hall X1
X1.65 |
John Clyne, Stanislaw Jaroszynski, Shaomeng Li, and Scott Pearse