Do you consider yourself a science communicator? Does your research group or institution participate in public engagement activities? Have you ever evaluated or published your education and outreach efforts?

Scientists communicate to non-peer audiences through numerous pathways including websites, blogs, public lectures, media interviews, and educational collaborations. A considerable amount of time and money is invested in this public engagement and these efforts are to a large extent responsible for the public perception of science. However, few incentives exist for researchers to optimize their communication practices to ensure effective outreach. This session encourages critical reflection on science communication practices and provides an opportunity for science communicators to share best practice and experiences with evaluation and research in this field.

Convener: Sam Illingworth | Co-conveners: Maria Loroño Leturiondo, Heidi Roop, Mathew Stiller-Reeve
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30, 14:00–18:00
Room L7
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X4

Attendance time: Friday, 12 April 2019, 08:30–10:15 | Hall X4

Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.336 |
Anthea Lacchia, Geertje Schuitema, Peter Haughton, and Patrick Shannon
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.337 |
| Highlight
Maria Lorono-Leturiondo, Paul O'Hare, Simon Cook, Stephen R. Hoon, and Sam Illingworth
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.339 |
Sam Illingworth, Alice Bell, Adam Corner, Stuart Capstick, Niall McLoughlin, Catherine Muller, and Harriet Richardson
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.340 |
Matteo Pampaloni, Tiziana Pileggi, Marco Vigelini, and Enrica Caporali
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.341 |
Claudia Volosciuk, Oksana Tarasova, Geir Braathen, Alexander Baklanov, and Lorenzo Labrador
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.342 |
Marlene Kronenberg, Anja Fridrich, Marijke Habermann, Lena Hellmann, Kathrin Naegeli, and Margit Schwikowski
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.343 |
Markku Alho, Esa Kallio, and Riku Järvinen
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.344 |
Stephanie G. Zihms, Joana A. Moscoso, Patrick Rebuschat, Ana Catarino, and Tatiana Correia
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.345 |
Araceli García Yeguas, Luz García Martínez, Sonia Mota Fernández, Janire Prudencio, Luciano Zuccarello, Mercedes Vázquez Vílchez, Susana Rams Sánchez, David Aguilera Morales, and Jesús M. Ibáñez
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.346 |
Marina Locritani, Silvia Merlino, Maria Rapini, and Marisa Ceccarelli
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.347 |
Anniken R. Birkelund and Stephanie C. Werner
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.348 |
Dariusz Wójcik, Wojciech Czuba, Tomasz Janik, Piotr Środa, Monika Bociarska, and Edward Gaczyński
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.349 |
Dirk van As, Inka Koch, William Colgan, and Faezeh M. Nick
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.350 |
Dirk Fleischer, Emanuel Söding, Swantje Piotrowski, Axel Dennert, Mirl Trösch, Stella Thoben, and Franziska Weng
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.351 |
Encarnación V. Taguas, Víctor Marín-Moreno, M. Castillo Amaro-Ventura, Natalia Borrego, Francisco Esquinas, and Victoria Pérez
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.352 |
Sabine Darras, Claire Granier, Catherine Liousse, Damien Boulanger, Le Hung Vu, and Pierre Vert
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.353 |
Boris Reusch, Christian Hoffman, Laurent Verdier, William Metref, Dominique Joly, Amelio Incollingo, Pasquale Longo, Fadwa Alshawaf, Galina Dick, Umberto Riccardi, Giuseppe Brandi, Mario Dolce, Diana Duilio, Claudio Martino, and Umberto Tammaro
Chairperson: Mathew Stiller-Reeve
X4.354 |
Benoit Tournade and Melodie Trolliet