HS8.1.6 Media

Particles (inorganic particles, biocolloids, plastics) in environmental systems are of great concern because of their potential adverse effects on ecosystem functions, wildlife and human health. They may also alter the transport properties of dissolved contaminants and change the hydraulic properties of subsurface systems. On the other hand, engineered particles and biocolloids play an important role in site remediation and aquifer restoration.
This interdisciplinary session fosters the exchange among scientists from hydrogeology, microbiology, ecotoxicology, engineering, and analytical chemistry in order to provide a general picture of the occurrence and fate of natural and engineered particles in aquatic and terrestrial systems.
We are expecting contributions in the following fields:
• occurrence, fate and transport of biocolloids, nanoparticles and other particles (microplastics, soot, ...) in aquatic and terrestrial systems
• methods to detect, characterize, and quantify particles in aquatic and terrestrial systems
• advanced experimental methods to test the behaviour of particles in aquatic and terrestrial systems (mesocosms, non-invasive imaging, ...)
• interactions between biocolloids, particles and solid surfaces
• biocolloid biodegradation in the presence of solids
• toxicity of products generated from biological disruption of pollutants in the presence of biocolloids
• adverse effects of nanoparticles on microorganisms
• effects of climate change on biocolloid and nanoparticle migration
• public health risks associated with water and air polluted with biocolloids and nanoparticles

Convener: Constantinos Chrysikopoulos | Co-conveners: Thomas Baumann, Markus Flury, Meiping Tong
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–12:40
Room 2.25
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall A

Attendance time: Friday, 12 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall A

Chairperson: Meiping Tong
A.111 |
Oshri Borgman, Avraham Be'er, and Noam Weisbrod
A.112 |
Vasileios Katzourakis and Constantinos Chrysikopoulos
A.113 |
Theodosia V. Fountouli and Constantinos V. Chrysikopoulos
A.114 |
Maria P. Georgopoulou, Kleanthi I. Kourtaki, Vasiliki I. Syngouna, and Constantinos V. Chrysikopoulos
A.115 |
Lei He, Dan Wu, Haifeng Rong, Meng Li, and Meiping Tong
A.117 |
Jinhui Tong, Chaorui Yan, Jianying Shang, Yuanyuan Liu, and Xiaofan Yang
A.118 |
Meng Li, Lei He, Mengya Zhang, Xianwei Liu, and Meiping Tong
A.119 |
Markus Flury, Zhan Wang, Stephen Taylor, and Prabhakar Sharma
A.120 |
Elisabeth von der Esch, Philipp M. Anger, Thomas Baumann, Reinhard Niessner, Martin Elsner, and Natalia P. Ivleva
A.121 |
Gukhwa Hwang, Allan Gomez-Flores, Scott A. Bradford, Meiping Tong, and Hyunjung Kim
A.122 |
Yosri-Kamal Hassanein, Paul Eisentraut, Caroline Goedecke, Axel Müller, Maria Kittner, Claus Gerhard Bannick, Anne Katrin Barthel, and Ulrike Braun
A.123 |
Sayed Amininejad, Natalia P. Ivleva, and Thomas Baumann
A.124 |
Miriam Vogler, Axel Müller, Ulrike Braun, and Peter Grathwohl
A.125 |
Vasiliki I. Syngouna and Constantinos V. Chrysikopoulos
A.126 |
Anastasios Malandrakis, Nektarios Kavroulakis, and Constantinos Chrysikopoulos
A.127 |
Viviana Bolaños-Benítez, Frank McDermott, Laurence Gill, and Jan Knappe