Scientific drilling through the International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) and the International Continental Scientific Drilling Program (ICDP) continues to provide unique opportunities to investigate the workings of the interior of our planet, Earth’s cycles, natural hazards and the distribution of subsurface microbial life. The past and current scientific drilling programs have brought major advances in many multidisciplinary fields of socio-economic relevance, such as climate and ecosystem evolution, palaeoceanography, the deep biosphere, deep crustal and tectonic processes, geodynamics and geohazards. This session invites contributions that present and/or review recent scientific results from deep Earth sampling and monitoring through ocean and continental drilling projects. Furthermore, we encourage contributions that outline perspectives and visions for future drilling projects, in particular projects using a multi-platform approach.

Co-organized as CL1.32/EMRP3.11/GD2.9/GMPV1.7/NH5.12/TS1.4, co-sponsored by JpGU
Convener: Antony Morris | Co-conveners: Jorijntje Henderiks, Tanja Hörner, Thomas Wiersberg
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room 0.31
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X1

Attendance time: Thursday, 11 April 2019, 16:15–18:00 | Hall X1

Chairperson: Jorijntje Henderiks, Tanya Hörner, Antony Morris, Thomas Wiersberg
X1.165 |
Christie Helouise Engelmann de Oliveira, Farid Chemale Jr., and Tiago J. Girelli
X1.167 |
Eric Ferré, Sara Satolli, Huaichun Wu, Patricia Persaud, Deniz Cukur, and Stephen Bowden
X1.169 |
Davide Gamboa, Phil Barnes, Rebecca Bell, Greg Moore, Joshu Mountjoy, Matteo Paganoni, Michael Clennel, Ann Cook, David McNamara, Michael Underwood, Hannah Rabinowitz, Atsushi Noda, Francesca Meneghini, Steffen Kutterolf, Yoshitaka Hashimoto, Christie de Oliveira, Ingo Pecher, Laura Wallace, and Damian Saffer
X1.170 |
Jan Safanda, Antonio Correia, and Petr Dedecek
X1.171 |
Simona Pierdominici, Anja Maria Schleicher, Jochem Kück, Donald T. Rodbell, Mark B. Abbott, and the ICDP Lake Junín Working Group
X1.172 |
Thomas Wiersberg, Zimmer Martin, Kujawa Christian, Bennie Liebenberg, Hiroshi Ogasawara, Tullis C. Onstott, Zachary Garvin, Errol Cason, Jan-G Vermeulen, and Esta van Heerden
X1.173 |
Maria Ask, Ilmo Kukkonen, Odleiv Olesen, Björn Lund, Ake Fagereng, Jonny Rutqvist, Jan-erik Rosberg, and Henning Lorenz
X1.175 |
Henning Lorenz, Bjarne Almqvist, Maria Ask, Stefan Buske, Rüdiger Giese, Ulrich Harms, Christopher Juhlin, Jochem Kück, Anders R. Persson, Erik Ronne, and Jan-Erik Rosberg
X1.177 |
Boris Theofanis Karatsolis, David De Vleeschouwer, Jeroen Groeneveld, Beth Christensen, and Jorijntje Henderiks