ITS3.6/NH9.17 Media

Over the past decades, many initiatives have been produced to archive the losses and datasets associated with natural perils events (EM-DAT, MunichRe NATCATservice, SwissRe Sigma, CATDAT, Dartmouth Flood Observatory etc.). On a European scale, much research has also been undertaken on a Europe-wide, country and subcountry level either using Desinventar or through other academic and insurer data archiving. However, these loss databases provide varying levels of parameters, data completeness, quality checks, spatial integration, and spatiotemporal limits. In addition, the types of data collection and definitions of loss often differ greatly between databases.

With over 3000 Open Data Initiatives around Europe ( and the World, the amount of data freely available is increasing, but censoring and data checks are required in order to ensure that the quality is reasonable. This similarly goes for online media archives and loss reporting. Even though some initial attempts have been made to connect different databases and stimulate consistency and open access (e.g. IRDR-DATA), this is a topic that needs to be explored further.

This session aims to advance efforts on loss data collection and provide a future inventory of socioeconomic loss databases for loss and risk analysis as well as to create a community linking academia, government and insurance.

Abstracts are welcomed in the following fields:-
- Socioeconomic loss databases for natural perils
- Infrastructure and sectoral loss archiving
- Online media initiatives for collecting loss data (e.g. twitter)
- Post-disaster loss analysis
- Online analysis of loss data or loss reporting
- Parametric risk transfer products
- GIS integration of past natural hazards event data
- Open data efforts for loss modelling
- Insurance loss data and loss archives
- Government post-disaster loss analysis and loss databases
- Other relevant loss-related research

Co-organized as NH9.17
Convener: James Daniell | Co-conveners: Jeroen Aerts, John K. Hillier, Gero Michel, Harriette Stone
| Thu, 11 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Room N1
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X3

Attendance time: Thursday, 11 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall X3

X3.55 |
Rashmin Gunasekera, James Daniell, Andreas Schaefer, Joaquin Toro, Oscar Ishizawa, Alanna Simpson, Graeme Riddell, Philip Ward, Antonios Pomonis, Marleen de Ruiter, Hing-Ho Tsang, Anais Couasnon, Michael Kunz, and Susanna Mohr
X3.56 |
Johannes Brand, James Daniell, Andreas Schaefer, Isabel Arnst, and Rashmin Gunasekera
X3.58 |
Gero Michel and James Daniell
X3.59 |
Jens-Udo Skapski, James Daniell, Armand Vervaeck, Carlos Robles, Roberth Romero, Jamie Gurney, Lukas Rentz, Andreas Schaefer, Antonios Pomonis, Konstantinos Dafloukas, and Isabel Arnst
X3.60 |
Isabel Arnst, James Daniell, Andreas Schaefer, Michael Kunz, Trevor Daniell, Johannes Brand, Graeme Riddell, Timea Barta, and Susanna Mohr
X3.61 |
Ann-Kathrin Edrich, James Daniell, Eric Haecker, Andreas Schaefer, and Friedemann Wenzel
X3.62 |
Aurelien Boiselet, Quentin Henaff, Robin Locatelli, and Vincent Feraud
X3.63 |
Performance of dependent random variable simulation methodologies for crop insurance pricing: Comparing copula and empirical orthogonal function approaches
Qingyang Mu, Yu Gao, Haijiao Yu, Yifeng Chen, and Tao Ye
X3.65 |
Annibale Vecere, Mario Martina, Ricardo Monteiro, and Carmine Galasso
X3.66 |
Niall Quinn, Paul Bates, Oliver Wing, Janet Heffernan, Andrew Smith, Christopher Sampson, Jeffrey Neal, and James Smith
X3.67 |
Nicolas Humbert, James Daniell, Andreas Schaefer, Friedemann Wenzel, Jens-Udo Skapski, and Konstantinos Dafloukas
X3.68 |
Oscar Ishizawa, Joaquin Munoz-Diaz, James Daniell, Timea Barta, Jan Becker, Andreas Schaefer, Antonios Pomonis, and Rashmin Gunasekera
X3.69 |
Antonios Pomonis, James Daniell, Rashmin Gunasekera, Andreas Schaefer, and Jens-Udo Skapski
X3.70 |
Why focus on climate hazards if we need to understand impacts? Mobile technologies could put humans back into the equation
Markus Enenkel, Molly Brown, Jürgen Vogt, Jessica McCarty, Andrew Reid Bell, Debarati Guha-Sapir, Wouter Dorigo, Katya Vasilaky, Mark Svoboda, Rogerio Bonifacio, Martha Anderson, Chris Funk, Daniel Osgood, Christopher Hain, and Patrick Vinck