During the passage of precipitation through the soil-plant-atmosphere interface, water and solutes are redistributed by the plant canopy, subsurface flow and transport processes. Many of these dynamic interactions between vegetation and soil are not yet well understood. This session brings together the vibrant community addressing a better understanding of ecohydrological processes taking place between the canopy and the root zone. Innovative methods investigating throughfall, stemflow, hydraulic redistribution, and root water uptake in various environments shed light on how water and solutes are routed in the thin layer covering the terrestrial ecosystems. The session further covers open questions and new opportunities within the ecohydrological community regarding methodological developments such as the analysis of stable isotope, soil moisture, throughfall or solute dynamics.

Invited speakers:
Daniele Penna (University of Florence, Italy)
Darryl Carlyle-Moses (Thompson Rivers University, Canada)

Co-organized as BG2.70/SSS4.16
Convener: Natalie Orlowski | Co-conveners: Josie Geris, Anke Hildebrandt, Matthias Sprenger, Jan Friesen, Miriam Coenders-Gerrits
| Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45, 16:15–18:00
Room 2.25
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall A

Attendance time: Friday, 12 April 2019, 10:45–12:30 | Hall A

Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.159 |
Anam Amin, Daniele Penna, Giulia Zuecco, Jeffrey J. McDonnell, Josie Geris, Luitgard Schwendenmann, and Marco Borga
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.160 |
Lyssette Munoz Villers, Josie Geris, Susana Alvarado Barrientos, and Friso Holwerda
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.161 |
Audrey Douinot, Doerthe Tetzlaff, Marco Maneta, Sylvain Kuppel, Hubert Schulte-Bisping, and Chris Soulsby
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.163 |
Rémy Schoppach and Julian Klaus
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.164 |
Sinikka Paulus, Angelika Kübert, Adrian Dahlmann, Christiane Werner, Youri Rothfuss, Maren Dubbert, and Natalie Orlowski
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.166 |
Henry Zimba, Miriam Coenders-Gerrits, Kawawa Banda, Bart Schilperoort, Imasiku Nyambe, Hubert Savenije, and Hessel Winsemius
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.167 |
Katarina Zabret and Mojca Šraj
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.168 |
Yafei Li, Andreas Riedl, Franziska Aemisegger, Nina Buchmann, and Werner Eugster
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.169 |
Jonas Van Laere, Damas Birindwa, Wivine Munyahali, Pieter Pypers, Roman Gruber, Christian Resch, Maria Heiling, Georg Weltin, Arsenio Toloza, Johanna Slaets, Norbert Jagoditsch, Leo Mayr, Elke Vandamme, Kokou Kintche, Roel Merckx, and Gerd Dercon
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.170 |
Janett Filipzik, Beate Michalzik, Gökben Demir, David Kunze, and Anke Hildebrandt
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.171 |
Gokben Demir, Johanna Clara Metzger, Andrew Guswa, Janett Filipzik, and Anke Hildebrandt
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.172 |
Pilar Llorens, Juan Pinos, Carles Cayuela, Antonio J. Molina, Francesc Gallart, and Jérôme Latron
Chairperson: Matthias Sprenger
A.173 |
Critical Review of Rainfall Interception Components of World Forests
José Návar