The transfer of sediments and associated contaminants play an important role in catchment ecosystems as they directly influence water quality, habitat conditions and biogeochemical cycles. Contaminants may include heavy metals, pesticides, nutrients, radionuclides, and various organic, as well as organometallic compounds. The environmental risk posed by sediment-bound contaminants is largely determined by the sources and rate at which sediments are delivered to surface water bodies, the residence time in catchments, lakes and river systems as well as biogeochemical transformation processes. However, the dynamics of sediment and contaminant redistribution is highly variable in space and time due to the complex non-linear processes involved. This session thus focuses on sources, transport pathways, storage and re-mobilization, and travel times of sediments and contaminants across temporal and spatial scales as well as their impact on catchment and freshwater ecosystems.

This session particularly addresses the following issues:
• Delivery rates of sediments and contaminants from various sources (i.e. agriculture, urban areas, mining, industry or natural areas);
• Transport, retention and remobilization of sediments and contaminants in catchments and river reaches;
• Modelling of sediment and contaminant transport on various temporal and spatial scales;
• Biogeochemical controls on contaminant transport and transformation;
• Studies on sedimentary processes and morphodynamics, particularly sediment budgets;
• Linkages between catchment systems and lakes, including reservoirs;
• Analysis of sediment archives to appraise landscape scale variations in sediment and contaminant yield over medium to long time-scales;
• Impacts of sediments and contaminants on floodplain, riparian, hyporheic and other in-stream ecosystems;
• Response of sediment and contaminant dynamics in catchments, lakes and rivers to changing boundary conditions and human actions.

The following invited speakers have been confirmed: Ian Droppo (Environment and Climate Change Canada) and Rob Runkel (U.S. Geological Survey)

Convener: Marcel van der Perk | Co-conveners: Patrick Byrne, Philip Owens
| Wed, 10 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room 2.95
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall A

Attendance time: Wednesday, 10 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall A

Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.264 |
Adam Krajewski, Anna Sikorska, and Kazimierz Banasik
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.265 |
Marcel van der Perk, Cut Ayu Tiara Sutari, and Hans Middelkoop
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.266 |
Ellen Petticrew, Philip Owens, Todd French, and Jordan Lindgren
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.267 |
Kurt Lichtenwöhrer, Robert Brünjes, Nathalie Tepe, and Thilo Hofmann
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.268 |
Christophe Cloquet, Shuofei Dong, Emmanuelle Montarges-Pelletier, Hussein Kanbar, and Laurence Mansuy-Huault
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.269 |
Núria Martínez-Carreras, Leslie Ogorzaly, Cécile Walczak, Henry-Michel Cauchie, and Christophe Hissler
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.270 |
Bernardete Vieira, Marta Roboredo, Rita Fonseca, and Anabela Reis
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.271 |
Daniele Frascareli, Erik Sartori Gontijo, Darllene Silveira Melo, Vanessa C. Simonetti, Johannes Barth, André Henrique Rosa, and Kurt Friese
Chairperson: Philip Owens
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.273 |
Fangting Wang, Zhihua Chen, and Changsheng Huang
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.274 |
Chunchen Xia, Jinxin Liu, Hui Dai, Zhixian Cao, Lei Yu, Wei Li, Shuyuan Li, and Kai Li
Chairperson: Philip Owens
Chairperson: Philip Owens
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.277 |
Jiří Štojdl, Sylvie Kříženecká, Jitka Tolaszová, Zuzana Lenďáková, Jitka Elznicová, Tomáš Matys Grygar, and Ondřej Bábek
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.278 |
Michal Hošek, Jan Bednárek, Jan Popelka, Jitka Elznicová, Štěpánka Tůmová, and Tomáš Matys Grygar
Chairperson: Philip Owens
A.279 |
Nicolas Valiente, Juan José Gómez-Alday, and Franz Jirsa