Numerical modeling of earthquakes provides new approaches to apprehend the physics of earthquake rupture and the seismic cycle, seismic wave propagation, fault zone evolution and seismic hazard assessment.
Recent advances in numerical algorithms and increasing computational power enable unforeseen precision and multi-physics components in physics-based earthquake simulation but also pose challenges in terms of fully exploiting modern supercomputing infrastructure, realistic parameterization of simulation ingredients and the analysis of large synthetic datasets.
This session aims to bring together modelers and data analysts interested in the physics and computational aspects of earthquake phenomena. We welcome studies focusing on all aspects of the physics of various earthquakes - from slow slip events, fault mechanics and rupture dynamics, to wave propagation and ground motion analysis, to the seismic cycle and inter seismic deformation - and studies which further the state-of-the art in the related computational and numerical aspects.
We further encourage studies linking earthquake source processes to rock mechanics and the laboratory scale.

Co-organized as GD8.7/NH4.8
Convener: Alice-Agnes Gabriel | Co-conveners: Jean Paul Ampuero, Hideo Aochi
| Tue, 09 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room -2.32
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X2

Attendance time: Tuesday, 9 April 2019, 10:45–12:30 | Hall X2

X2.266 |
Lubica Valentova and Frantisek Gallovic
X2.267 |
Frantisek Gallovic, Taufiqurrahman Taufiqurrahman, Alice-Agnes Gabriel, and Lubica Valentova
X2.268 |
Houyun Yu, Zhenguo Zhang, and Xiaofei Chen
X2.269 |
Viktoriya Yarushina and Alexander Minakov
X2.270 |
Effect of Wear Process on Earthquake Recurrence
Jeen-Hwa Wang
X2.273 |
Keisuke Ariyoshi, Jean-Paul Ampuero, Roland Burgmann, Toru Matsuzawa, Akira Hasegawa, Ryota Hino, and Takane Hori
X2.274 |
Thomas Ulrich, Alice Gabriel, Jean-Paul Ampuero, Wenbin Xu, and Tomy Gunawan
X2.275 |
Lucile Bruhat, Esteban Rougier, Kurama Okubo, and Harsha S. Bhat
X2.277 |
Claudio Petrini, Taras Gerya, Ylona van Dinther, James Connolly, Claudio Madonna, and Viktoriya Yarushina