The Earth’s ionosphere is composed of dense and cold plasma that includes heavy ions such as He+ and O+. This plasma can directly escape to the magnetosphere following the Earth's magnetic field lines in the polar regions, i.e., ionospheric outflows, and forms the plasmasphere in the low and mid latitude regions. The ionosphere is therefore an important source that provides significant amounts of plasma to the magnetosphere and has a profound impact on the global magnetosphere-ionosphere dynamics. During times of increased geomagnetic activity, this plasma can dominate over the plasma entry from the solar wind. They mass-load the magnetosphere and modify its temperature, and as a consequence the global structure and properties of the plasma sheet, the reconnection processes, and the local properties of the plasma.

Tracking the ionospheric ions in the magnetosphere can also provide clues regarding the generalized ionospheric outflow process and its role in controlling the ionosphere-magnetosphere system. Therefore, knowledge of the ionospheric ion contribution to the near-Earth plasma together with their differential transport and acceleration throughout the magnetosphere system provides a unique insight into the connection between the macro-scale dynamics and micro-scale processes that govern this region.

Recent observations from numerous missions including Cluster, Van Allen Probes, THEMIS, and MMS and simulations identify the origin, transport, and loss of plasma originating in the ionosphere and transported into the plasmasphere and magnetosphere. This session welcomes presentations on all aspects of the origin, transport and effects on the magnetosphere dynamics of ionospheric plasma. Studies based on observations, theory, simulations or their combination are encouraged.

Convener: Sergio Toledo-Redondo | Co-conveners: Mats André, Stephen Fuselier, Raluca Ilie, Elena Kronberg
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Room L3
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X4

Attendance time: Wednesday, 10 April 2019, 16:15–18:00 | Hall X4

Chairperson: S. Toledo-Redondo
X4.160 |
Susanne Flø Spinnangr, Michael Hesse, Paul Tenfjord, Cecilia Norgren, and Håkon Midthun Kolstø
Hall X4
X4.161 |
Håkon Midthun Kolstø, Michael Hesse, Paul Tenfjord, Susanne Flø Spinnangr, and Cecilia Norgren
Hall X4
X4.162 |
Mats André, Sergio Toledo-Redondo, and Andrew W Yau
Hall X4
X4.163 |
Sergio Toledo-Redondo, Wenya Li, Benoit Lavraud, Stephen Fuselier, Thomas E. Moore, Barbara Giles, Olivier LeContel, Per-Arne Lindqvist, and Christopher T. Russell
Hall X4
X4.164 |
Benoit Lavraud, Sergio Toledo-Redondo, Wenya Li, Daniel J. Gershman, William R. Paterson, Barbara Giles, and Stephen Fuselier
Hall X4
X4.165 |
Andrew Yau, Takumi Abe, Andrew Howarth, Mats André, and William Peterson
Hall X4
X4.166 |
The role of nitrogen ions in the dynamics of the near-Earth environment
Raluca Ilie, Mei Yun Lin, Muhammad Fraz Bashir, and Yu Huang
Hall X4
X4.167 |
Kun Li, Yong Wei, Stein Haaland, Elena A. Kronberg, Zhaojin Rong, Lukas Maes, Romain Maggiolo, Mats André, Hans Nilsson, and Elena Grigorenko
Hall X4
X4.168 |
Alexander Chernyshov, Irina Golovchanskaya, Boris Kozelov, Dmitry Chugunin, and Mikhail Mogilevsky
Hall X4
X4.169 |
Dmitry Chugunin, Mikhail Mogilevsky, and Alexander Chernyshov