In spring and summer 2018, Central and Northern Europe faced a severe drought with rainfall deficits beginning as early as April and lasting until late August in some regions (partly combined with a heat wave in July and August). Due to higher spring temperatures and high radiation the Baltic Sea showed a very unusal low pCO2 signal since late April and a spectacular summer bloom this year. The impact on terrestrial ecosystems became obvious through crop failure and forest fires. This transdiciplinary session calls for scientific results from Earth Observation showing the impact of the drought and for presentations from the interface between science a climate action e.g. adaptation strategies, questions on measuring, reporting and verification of inventories or general communication of climate change to societies.

Co-organized as BG3.23/AS4.32/OS1.33, co-sponsored by ICOS
Convener: Werner Leo Kutsch | Co-convener: Philippe Ciais
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room N1
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall A

Attendance time: Thursday, 11 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall A

Chairperson: Werner Kutsch
A.365 |
Zhiyong Liu, Lei Chen, Wenping Yuan, Nicholas G. Smith, and Syed Ashraful Alam
A.366 |
Natalia Kowalska, Justyna Szatniewska, Marko Stojanović, Ladislav Šigut, and Marian Pavelka
A.367 |
Alisa Krasnova, Kaido Soosaar, Veiko Uri, Ülo Mander, Dmitrii Krasnov, and Steffen Noe
A.369 |
| Highlight
Kerstin Stahl, Veit Blauhut, Michael Stoelzle, Erik Tijdeman, Lucas Menzel, and Jens Lange
A.370 |
Investigating the causes of heather die-off during summer 2018: an ecotron study
Francois Rineau, Natalie Beenaerts, Jan Clerinx, Thomas Puetz, Jan Vanderborght, Wim Thiery, Inne Vanderkelen, and Jaco Vangronsveld
A.371 |
Petr Skalak, Petr Stepanek, Pavel Zahradnicek, and Miroslav Trnka
A.372 |
Claudia Teutschbein, Elin Lundkvist, Frederike Albrecht, and Malgorzata Blicharska
A.373 |
Alexander Los, Martijn Seijger, and Joris Kruse
A.374 |
Response of net community production to extreme meteorological conditions in spring/summer 2018
Gregor Rehder, Jens D. Müller, Henry C. Bittig, Johannes Johansson, Seppo Kaitala, Bengt Karlson, Frank Kaspar, Anna Rutgersson, Bernd Schneider, Herbert Siegel, Simo-Matti Siiriä, Laura Tuomi, and Norbert Wasmund