EGU2020-13497, updated on 12 Jun 2020
https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu2020-13497
EGU General Assembly 2020
© Author(s) 2020. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

e-infrastructures and natural hazards. The Center of Excellence for Exascale in Solid Earth (ChEESE)

Arnau Folch1, Josep de la Puente1, Laura Sandri2, Benedikt Halldórsson3, Andreas Fichtner4, Jose Gracia5, Piero Lanucara6, Michael Bader7, Alice-Agnes Gabriel8, Jorge Macías9, Finn Lovholt10, Alexandre Fournier11, Vadim Monteiller12, and Soline Laforet13
Arnau Folch et al.
  • 1Barcelona Supercomputing Center, CASE, Barcelona, Spain (afolch@bsc.es)
  • 2Istituto Nazionale Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Bologna, Italy (laura.sandri@ingv.it)
  • 3Icelandic Meteorological Office, Iceland (benedikt@vedur.is)
  • 4Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland (andreas.fichtner@erdw.ethz.ch)
  • 5University of Stuttgart - High Performance Computing Center, Germany (gracia@hlrs.de)
  • 6CINECA, Italy (p.lanucara@cineca.it)
  • 7Technical University of Munich, Germany (bader@in.tum.de)
  • 8Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München, Germany (gabriel@geophysik.uni-muenchen.de)
  • 9University of Málaga, Spain (jmacias@uma.es)
  • 10Norwegian Geotechnical Institute, Norway (finn.lovholt@ngi.no)
  • 11Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, France (fournier@ipgp.fr)
  • 12National Center for Scientific Research Marseille, France (monteiller@lma.cnrs-mrs.fr)
  • 13Bull SAS, France (soline.laforet@atos.net)

The Center of Excellence for Exascale in Solid Earth (ChEESE; https://cheese-coe.eu) is promoting the use of upcoming Exascale and extreme performance computing capabilities in the area of Solid Earth by harnessing institutions in charge of operational monitoring networks, tier-0 supercomputing centers, academia, hardware developers and third parties from SMEs, Industry and public-governance. The scientific challenging ambition is to prepare 10 European open-source flagship codes to solve Exascale problems on computational seismology, magnetohydrodynamics, physical volcanology, tsunamis, and data analysis. Preparation to Exascale is considering code inter-kernel aspects of simulation workflows like data management and sharing following the FAIR principles, I/O, post-process and visualization. The project is articulated around 12 Pilot Demonstrators (PDs) in which flagship codes are used for near real-time seismic simulations and full-wave inversion, ensemble-based volcanic ash dispersal forecasts, faster than real-time tsunami simulations and physics-based hazard assessments for earthquakes, volcanoes and tsunamis. This is a first step towards enabling of operational e-services requiring of extreme HPC on urgent computing, early warning forecast of geohazards, hazard assessment and data analytics. Additionally, and in collaboration with the European Plate Observing System (EPOS), ChEESE will promote and facilitate the integration of HPC services to widen the access to codes and fostering transfer of know-how to Solid Earth user communities. In this regard, the project aims at acting as a hub to foster HPC across the Solid Earth Community and related stakeholders and to provide specialized training on services and capacity building measures.

How to cite: Folch, A., de la Puente, J., Sandri, L., Halldórsson, B., Fichtner, A., Gracia, J., Lanucara, P., Bader, M., Gabriel, A.-A., Macías, J., Lovholt, F., Fournier, A., Monteiller, V., and Laforet, S.: e-infrastructures and natural hazards. The Center of Excellence for Exascale in Solid Earth (ChEESE), EGU General Assembly 2020, Online, 4–8 May 2020, EGU2020-13497, https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu2020-13497, 2020

Comments on the presentation

AC: Author Comment | CC: Community Comment | Report abuse

Presentation version 1 – uploaded on 03 May 2020 , no comments