EGU2020-14037
https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu2020-14037
EGU General Assembly 2020
© Author(s) 2020. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

GeoEra HOVER WP7 – Harmonized vulnerability to pollution mapping of the upper aquifer

Andreas Günther1, Stefan Broda1, Klaus Duscher1, Jörg Reichling1, Susanne Schomburgk2, Daniel Elster3, Boris Bimalyuk4, Sonja Cerar5, Birgitte Hansen6, Caoimhe Hickey7, Juuso Ikonen8, Ignasi Herms9, Kostas Kontodimos10, David Pulido Velázquez11, Diana Persa12, Silvio Janetz13, Melanie Witthoeft14, Jurga Arustiene15, Nora Gal16, Magdalena Nidental17, and the GEOERA HOVER WP7 TEAM*
Andreas Günther et al.
  • 1BGR
  • 2BRGM
  • 3GBA
  • 4GEOINFORM
  • 5GEO-ZS
  • 6GEUS
  • 7GSI
  • 8GTK
  • 9ICGC
  • 10IGME Greece
  • 11IGME Spain
  • 12IGR
  • 13LBGR
  • 14LBEG
  • 15LGT
  • 16MBFSZ
  • 17PGI
  • *A full list of authors appears at the end of the abstract

45 Geological Survey Organisations (GSOs) from 32 European countries developed an ERA-NET Co-Fund Action: Establishing the European Geological Surveys Research Area to deliver a Geological Service for Europe (GeoERA). The GeoEra project HOVER (Hydrogeological processes and Geological settings over Europe controlling dissolved geogenic and anthropogenic elements in groundwater of relevance to human health and the status of dependent ecosystems) aims to gain understanding of the controls on groundwater quality across Europe using the combined expertise and data held by member states. Objectives of the HOVER work package 7 (WP7) are i) review of existing index methods for assessing the vulnerability of the upper aquifer to pollution and selection of the methods to be applied at the pilot and pan-EU scale, ii) compilation and harmonization of input data sets required for assessing vulnerability, and iii) assessment of aquifer vulnerability to pollution (both in maps and 2-d schematic cross sections).

The selected methodology adopted in this project is DRASTIC, which will be applied in ten pilot areas and at the pan-European scale. In karst regions, however, the COP method will be applied in the pilots. This is accompanied with comparisons with the outcomes of existing national vulnerability assessments. It is anticipated to validate the resulting vulnerability maps at the pilot level using available groundwater nitrate contamination information.

GEOERA HOVER WP7 TEAM:

Stefan Broda (stefan.broda@bgr.de); Andreas Günther (andreas.guenther@bgr.de); Klaus Duscher (klaus.duscher@bgr.de); Jörg Reichling joerg.reichling@bgr.de; BGR; Schomburgk Susanne (s.schomburgk@brgm.fr); BRGM; Daniel Elster (Daniel.Elster@geologie.ac.at); GBA; Boris Bimalyuk (bimalyuk@gmail.com); Ekaterina Boyko (boyko_ekateruna@ukr.net); GEOINFORM Sonja Cerar (sonja.cerar@geo-zs.si); Nina Mali (nina.mali@geo-zs.si); GEO-ZS; Birgitte Hansen (bgh@geus.dk), Denitza Voutchkova (dv@geus.dk), Jörg Schullehner (jsc@geus.dk); GEUS; Caoimhe Hickey (Caoimhe.Hickey@gsi.ie); GSI; Juuso Ikonen (juuso.ikonen@gtk.fi); GTK; Ignasi Herms (Ignasi.Herms@icgc.cat); Georgina Arnó (Georgina.Arno@icgc.cat); ICGC; Kostas Kontodimos (kontodimos@igme.gr); IGME Greece; David Pulido Velázquez (d.pulido@igme.es); Leticia Baena Ruíz (l.baena@igme.es); IGME Spain; Diana Persa (persa.diana@yahoo.ro); IGR; Silvio Janetz (Silvio.Janetz@lbgr.brandenburg.de); LBGR; Melanie Witthoeft Melanie.(Witthoeft@lbeg.niedersachsen.de); LBEG; Jurga Arustiene (jurgaa@lgt.lt); LGT; Nora Gal (gal.nora@mbfsz.gov.hu); MBFSZ; Magdalena Nidental (magdalena.nidental@pgi.gov.pl); Marzena Jarmulowicz-Siekiera (marzena.jarmulowicz-siekiera@pgi.gov.pl); PGI

How to cite: Günther, A., Broda, S., Duscher, K., Reichling, J., Schomburgk, S., Elster, D., Bimalyuk, B., Cerar, S., Hansen, B., Hickey, C., Ikonen, J., Herms, I., Kontodimos, K., Velázquez, D. P., Persa, D., Janetz, S., Witthoeft, M., Arustiene, J., Gal, N., and Nidental, M. and the GEOERA HOVER WP7 TEAM: GeoEra HOVER WP7 – Harmonized vulnerability to pollution mapping of the upper aquifer, EGU General Assembly 2020, Online, 4–8 May 2020, EGU2020-14037, https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu2020-14037, 2020

Comments on the presentation

AC: Author Comment | CC: Community Comment | Report abuse

Presentation version 1 – uploaded on 06 May 2020 , no comments