Dear colleague, our website uses Bootstrap, which is supported by any browser except for Internet Explorer. Please install any other web browser to make use of all of our features. Thank you very much for your understanding.
Programme and science committee login

PSE – Plenary Sessions and Special Events


    9:30 Opening of the EMS2019 and Welcome Addresses
    -> Robert Riddaway, EMS President: Opening and Welcome
    -> Sven-Erik Gryning, DaMS President: Welcome Address
    -> Marianne Thyrring, Director Danish Meteorological Institute: Welcome Address
    -> Peter Hauge Madsen, Director of the DTU Wind Energy Department: Welcome Address (invited, tbc)

    Robert Riddaway: 20 years EMS – how has the landscape changed over the past 20 years?

    Strategic Lectures:
    Johanna Ekman, FMI
    -> "Increased meteorological cooperation - what it means for the Arctic"

    Thomas Jung, AWI, WWRP Polar Prediction Project, Year of Polar Prediction
    -> "Advances in Polar Prediction"

    Profiles of speakers:

    Convener: Martina Junge

    A substantial part of the national gross product in many countries is weather dependent. National weather services and the private sector have been innovative for more than a century to make better use of our meteorological knowledge. However, large gains are still to be made and this prize encourages individuals and groups to come with ideas how meteorology in a practical way can further move society forward. Meteorology can make society safer, can deliver costs savings and can bring more welfare to large groups of people. More information about the Prize and the Foundation can be found at

    Applications for the 2019 Harry Otten Prize were possible until March. The jury selected three finalists who will give presentations at the EMS Annual Meeting explaining their ideas. The prize winner will be announced in the Awards Session on Tuesday and Harry Otten, who is not part of the jury, will present the prize to the winners.

    Convener: Tanja Cegnar | Co-Convener: Andrea Oestreich

    The Townhall Meeting entitled "Moving forward from communication to action" is envisaged to discuss the following:
    -> What are the issues in moving from communication to acting?
    -> How do we get the general public and those in authority/responsibility positions to understand that warnings of severe weather and related events require them to act?
    -> And how to help service providers to move from providing hazard information to providing impact information?

    Three panellists have been invited:

    -> The Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization: Petteri Taalas (confirmed)

    -> The President of the American Meteorological Society: Jenni Evans (confirmed)

    -> A representative of an Emergency Response Agency (pending)

    The discussion will be chaired and facilitated by a moderator (tbc).

    Convener: Martina Junge

    Keynote presentations related to each of the Programme Streams (PS) will be given on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 9:00 to 9:30.

    The following speakers have been confirmed:

    OSA Programme Stream:
    Kenneth Holmlund, EUMETSAT Chief Scientist
    Title: "EUMETSAT – Providing accurate, reliable and timely satellite data for weather, climate and environmental applications"

    ES Programme Stream:
    Director European Environment Agency, Copenhagen (confirmation pending)

    UP Programme Stream:
    Dorthe Dahl-Jensen, Niels-Bohr-Institute Copenhagen
    Professor, Physics of Ice, Climate and Earth

    Convener: Martina Junge

    The Awards Session will be held in two parts on Monday, 9 September 2019 and Tuesday 10 September 2019.
    This session is jointly chaired by Heinke Schlünzen and Bob Riddaway.

    The following awards will be handed over:

    -> Outstanding Poster Award 2019
    -> Young Scientist Travel Awards
    -> EMS Young Scientist Award 2019

    -> Tromp Foundation Travel Awards (TFTAYS)
    -> EMS Tromp Award for an achievement in biometeorology 2019

    -> The Harry Otten Prize for Innovation in Meteorology 2019: This award will be presented later in the week.

    -> EMS Outstanding Contribution Award 2019
    -> EMS Technology Achievement Award 2019

    The EMS Silver Medal 2019:
    -> Laudation
    -> Silver Medal Lecture

    The EMS Media Awards will be presented in the Media Session (ES2.1); the exact day and time will be available by mid-June.

    Convener: Martina Junge

    We invite all early career scientists to this 1-hour mentoring event.
    Experienced actors with diverse backgrounds in all sectors of the weather enterprise will be ready to answer and discuss any questions about job perspectives, career path options, building networks, ...

    Experts on the topics listed below will be available at five tables:
    o Networking
    o Paper writing
    o International involvement
    o Applying for a job
    o Career options
    The specific topics may slightly vary dependent on the expertise of the specific experts present at the event.
    Groups of participants (~ 5) will have some 10 minutes at each table and rotate to the next topic.

    The number of participants is restricted, thus registration is required and will be handled through a list at the registration onsite; participants will be accepted on a first-come first-serve basis.
    Should the interest largely exceed the available slots, running the event a second time will be considered.

    One hour between on Tuesday or Wednesday afternoon between 15:00 and 16:00h.

    Names of experts will be listed here once they are confirmed.

    Should any questions arise in advance please contact


    Supporters & sponsors