Dear colleague, our website uses Bootstrap, which is supported by any browser except for Internet Explorer. Please install any other web browser to make use of all of our features. Thank you very much for your understanding.

Session programme

PSE – Plenary Sessions and Special Events

Programme Stream Moderator: Martina Junge


9:30 Opening of the EMS2019 and Welcome Addresses
-> Robert Riddaway, EMS President: Opening and Welcome
-> Sven-Erik Gryning, DaMS President: Welcome Address
-> Marianne Thyrring, Director Danish Meteorological Institute: Welcome Address
-> Peter Hauge Madsen, Director of the DTU Wind Energy Department: Welcome Address

Strategic Lectures:
Johanna Ekman, FMI
-> "Increased meteorological cooperation - what it means for the Arctic"

Thomas Jung, AWI, WWRP Polar Prediction Project, Year of Polar Prediction
-> "Advances in Polar Prediction"

Robert Riddaway: 20 years EMS – how has the landscape changed over the past 20 years?

Profiles of speakers:

Convener: Martina Junge
| Mon, 09 Sep, 09:30–11:45|Oticon Hall

A substantial part of the national gross product in many countries is weather dependent. National weather services and the private sector have been innovative for more than a century to make better use of our meteorological knowledge. However, large gains are still to be made and this prize encourages individuals and groups to come with ideas how meteorology in a practical way can further move society forward. Meteorology can make society safer, can deliver costs savings and can bring more welfare to large groups of people. More information about the Prize and the Foundation can be found at

Applications for the 2019 Harry Otten Prize were possible until March. The jury selected three finalists who will give presentations at the EMS Annual Meeting explaining their ideas. The prize winner will be announced in the Awards Session on Tuesday and Harry Otten, who is not part of the jury, will present the prize to the winners.

Public information:
The three Finalists this year are:

Yann Dufournet, Igor Stepanov, Geanny Amor dos Santos:
EnLight – New way to communicate HD weather-data about the incoming weather hazards to citizens

Malcolm Kitchen, Chris Brunt:
A new method of measuring atmospheric refractivity

Paul Petersik:
VineForecast - An interactive tool to generate individual predictions of vine diseases and phenology

Convener: Tanja Cegnar | Co-Conveners: Gert-Jan Steeneveld, Andrea Oestreich
| Mon, 09 Sep, 16:30–18:00|Room S1

The Townhall Meeting entitled "Moving forward from communication to action" is envisaged to discuss the following:
-> What are the issues in moving from communication to acting?
-> How do we get the general public and those in authority/responsibility positions to understand that warnings of severe weather and related events require them to act?
-> And how to help service providers to move from providing hazard information to providing impact information?

Three panellists have been confirmed their participation:

-> Petteri Taalas, Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

-> Jenni Evans, President of the American Meteorological Society (AMS)

-> Pekka Tiainen, Senior Officer and Special Expert International Affairs at the Department for Rescue Services (The Ministry of the Interior, Finland)

The discussion will be chaired and moderated by Marianne Thyrring, Director Danish Meteorological Institute.

Convener: Martina Junge
| Mon, 09 Sep, 18:15–19:00|Oticon Hall

Keynote presentations related to each of the Programme Streams (PS) will be given on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 9:00 to 9:30.

The following speakers have been confirmed:

OSA Programme Stream:
Kenneth Holmlund, EUMETSAT Chief Scientist
"EUMETSAT – Providing accurate, reliable and timely satellite data for weather, climate and environmental applications"

ES Programme Stream:
Hans Bruyninckx, Executive Director European Environment Agency, Copenhagen
"Climate change knowledge for informed policy making and implementation"

UP Programme Stream:
Linus Magnusson, ECMWF, Senior Scientist Forecast Department
"ECMWF activities for improving polar prediction"

Convener: Martina Junge
| Tue, 10 Sep, 09:00–09:30|Oticon Hall, Wed, 11 Sep, 09:00–09:30|Oticon Hall, Thu, 12 Sep, 09:00–09:30|Oticon Hall

The Awards Session will be held in two parts on Monday, 9 September 2019 and Tuesday 10 September 2019.
This session is jointly chaired by Heinke Schlünzen and Bob Riddaway.

The following awards will be handed over:

Monday, 9 September 2019:
-> Outstanding Poster Award 2018
-> EMS Young Scientist Award 2019
-> EMS Outstanding Contribution Award 2019
-> EMS Technology Achievement Award 2019

The EMS Silver Medal 2019:
-> Laudation
-> Silver Medal Lecture

Tuesday, 10 September 2019:
-> Young Scientist Travel Awards
-> Tromp Foundation Travel Awards (TFTAYS)
-> EMS Tromp Award for an achievement in biometeorology 2019
-> The Harry Otten Prize for Innovation in Meteorology 2019

Wednesday, 11 September 2019:
The EMS Media Awards will be presented in the Media Session (ES2.1) on Wednesday afternoon.

Convener: Martina Junge
| Mon, 09 Sep, 11:45–13:00|Oticon Hall, Tue, 10 Sep, 09:30–10:00|Oticon Hall

We invite all early career scientists to this 1-hour mentoring event.
Experienced actors with diverse backgrounds in all sectors of the weather enterprise will be ready to answer and discuss any questions about job perspectives, career path options, building networks, ...

Experts on the topics listed below will be available at five tables:
o Networking
o Paper writing
o International involvement
o Applying for a job
o Career options
o Career and parenthood
The specific topics may slightly vary dependent on the expertise of the specific experts present at the event.
Groups of participants (~ 5) will have some 10 minutes at each table and rotate to the next topic.

The number of participants is restricted, thus registration is required.
To register please send an e-mail to with your name and the topics you are particularly interested in.
Participants will be accepted on a first-come first-serve basis.

Should the interest largely exceed the available slots, running the event a second time will be considered.

In case there are still free places, a list for onsite registration will be available at the registration desk.

Wednesday, 11 September 2019, 14:30 - 15:30h

Experts include Renate Hagedorn (DWD), Federico Fierli (EUMETSAT), Dennis Schulze (MeteoGroup), Irene Suomi (FMI) and Sylvain Joffre (EMS).

Should any questions arise please contact

Public information:
Experts include Renate Hagedorn (DWD), Federico Fierli (EUMETSAT), Dennis Schulze (MeteoGroup), Irene Suomi (FMI) and Sylvain Joffre (EMS).

Wed, 11 Sep, 14:30–15:30|Room S2
Receptions: Icebreaker, Closing
Mon, 09 Sep, 19:15–20:30|Sports Hall, Fri, 13 Sep, 13:45–14:30|Sports Hall

Supporters & sponsors