EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



Exoplanets are being discovered in large numbers thanks to recent and ongoing surveys using state-of-the-art instrumentation from the ground and from space. In the next years, new astronomical instruments will further scout our Galaxy to overcome the current observational biases in the search of alien worlds, to gain a deeper understanding of the chemical and physical properties of exoplanets, and to unveil the processes of formation and evolution of planets and their atmospheres.

The goal of this session is to bring together the instrumentation and observational communities that are underpinning the future of this field. Contributions are invited to review ongoing programmes of exoplanet discovery and characterisation, to update on the progress of planned instrumentation programmes, and to present innovative ideas for future instrumentation.

Convener: Enzo Pascale | Co-conveners: Camilla Danielski, Paul Eccleston, Subhajit Sarkar
| Thu, 19 Sep, 08:30–12:00
Earth (Room 5), Fri, 20 Sep, 08:30–10:00
Uranus (Room 4)
| Attendance Thu, 19 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Wed, 18 Sep, 14:00–Fri, 20 Sep, 17:30|Level 2

Thursday, 19 September 2019 | Earth (Room 5)

Chairperson: Paul Eccleston
08:30–09:00 |
| solicited talk
Giovanna Tinetti and the ARIEL team
09:00–09:20 |
Marcell Tessenyi, Max Joshua, Giovanna Tinetti, Jonathan Tennyson, and Giorgio Savini
09:20–09:40 |
Luca Fossati, Kevin France, Brian Fleming, Jean-Michel Desert, Tommi Koskinen, Pascal Petit, Aline Vidotto, Arika Egan, Sreejith Aickara Gopinathan, Carolina Villarreal D'Angelo, and Matthew Beasley
09:40–09:55 |
Enzo Pascale, Nathaniel Butler, Dan Kelly, Brian Kilpatrick, Andrei Korotkov, Nikole Lewis, Michael Line, Laddawan Miko, Peter Nagler, Calvin Barth Netterfield, Jennifer Patience, Vivien Parmentier, Subjajit Sarkar, Paul Scowen, Gregory Tucker, Augustyn Waczynski, and Ingo Waldmann
Coffee break
Chairperson: Subhajit Sarkar
10:50–11:05 |
Telescope Performance Requirement Derivation for Earth-Detecting Coronagraphs: A Systematic Approach
Bijan Nemati and H Philip Stahl
11:05–11:20 |
Kai Hou Yip, Nikolaos Nikolaou, Piero Coronica, Angelos Tsiaras, Billy Edwards, Quentin Changeat, Mario Morvan, Beth Biller, Sasha Hinkley, Jeffrey Salmond, Matthew Archer, Paul Sumption, Elodie Choquet, Remi Soummer, Laurent Pueyo, and Ingo P. Waldmann
11:20–11:35 |
Nikolaos Nikolaou, Ingo Waldmann, Subhajit Sarkar, Angelos Tsiaras, Billy Edwards, Mario Morvan, Kai Hou Yip, and Giovanna Tinetti
11:35–11:50 |
Marine Martin-Lagarde, Pierre-Olivier Lagage, René Gastaud, Alain Coulais, Christophe Cossou, and Dan Dicken

Friday, 20 September 2019 | Uranus (Room 4)

Chairperson: Camilla Danielski
08:30–08:50 |
Riccardo Claudi
08:50–09:10 |
Francois Bouchy, René Doyon, Francesco Pepe, Francois Wildi, Nicolas Blind, Etienne Artigau, and Lison Malo
09:10–09:30 |
Patrick Dorval, Geert Jan Talens, Gilles Otten, Samuel Mellon, Remko Stuik, Jeb Bailey, Simon Albrecht, Don Pollaco, Enric Palle, James McCormac, Rafael Brahm, Andres Jordan, Steve Crawford, Michael Ireland, Blaine Lomberg, Rudi Kuhn, Ignas Snellen, Matthew Kenworthy, and Eric Mamajek
09:45–10:00 |
Surangkhana Rukdee, Sagi Ben-Ami, Mercedes López-Morales, Juliana Garcia-Mejia, David Charbonneau, and Andrew Szentgyorgyi