EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



Planetary collisions are integral mechanisms that both shape the final configuration of the solar system and modify planetary surfaces thereafter. This session is aimed at understanding planetary impact processes at all scales, from the cratering regime to the giant impact regime, in terms of shock processes, dynamical aspects, geochemical consequences, and cratering chronology. We also welcome the examination of competing hypotheses for the giant impact formation of terrestrial and outer solar system bodies. Naturally, advancing our understanding of impact phenomena requires a multidisciplinary approach, which includes (but it is not limited to) numerical modelling, laboratory-scale experiments, geologic and structural mapping, remote sensing, petrographic analysis of impact products, and isotopic and elemental geochemistry analysis. We welcome presentations across this broad range of study and particularly encourage work that bridges the gap between the investigative methods employed in studying planetary impact processes at all scales.

Convener: Travis Gabriel | Co-conveners: Elena Martellato, Martin Jutzi, Robert Luther, Natalia Artemieva, Hiroshi Kobayashi, Christoph Schäfer, Kai Wünneman
| Fri, 20 Sep, 13:30–17:00
Neptune (Room 3)
| Attendance Thu, 19 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Wed, 18 Sep, 14:00–Fri, 20 Sep, 17:30|Basement

Friday, 20 September 2019 | Neptune (Room 3)

Chairperson: Natalia Artimieva, Kai Wünneman, Robert Luther
Impact cratering and debris: experiments, observations, and models
13:30–13:45 |
Minami Yasui, Yuya Yamamoto, Masahiko Arakawa, Sunao Hasegawa, Ryo Sugimura, and Yusaku Yokota
13:45–14:00 |
| Media interest
Ronald Daly, Beau Bierhaus, Olivier Barnouin, Kevin Walsh, Hannah Susorney, Catherine Johnson, Carolyn Ernst, Eric Palmer, Robert Gaskell, John Weirich, Michael Daly, and Dante Lauretta and the OSIRIS-REx
14:00–14:15 |
| Media interest
Keisuke Sugiura, Hiroshi Kobayashi, and Shu-ichiro Inutsuka
14:15–14:30 |
Masahiko Arakawa, Minami Yasui, Masashi Okazaki, Masato Nakamura, and Sunao Hasegawa
14:30–14:45 |
Hidenori Genda, Kosuke Kurosawa, Shigeru Wakita, and Thomas M. Davison
14:45–15:00 |
Hiroshi Kobayashi
Coffee break
Chairperson: Martin Jutzi, Travis S.J. Gabriel, Hiroshi Kobayashi, Christoph Schäfer
Large-scale Collisions
15:30–15:45 |
Tim Lichtenberg and Gregor J. Golabek
15:45–16:00 |
Travis S.J. Gabriel, Erik Asphaug, Alan Jackson, Alexandre Emsenhuber, Saverio Cambioni, Andreas Reufer, Martin Jutzi, and Willy Benz
16:00–16:15 |
Alexandre Emsenhuber, Erik Asphaug, and Saverio Cambioni
16:15–16:30 |
Cody Raskin and Claudia Morello
16:30–16:45 |
Harry Ballantyne, Martin Jutzi, Gregor Golabek, Kar Wai Cheng, and Paul Tackley
16:45–17:00 |
Christian Reinhardt, Alice Chau, Joachim Stadel, and Ravit Helled