EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



This session welcomes contributions on laboratory impact experiments and theoretical modelling of impacts; planetary space missions which, by imaging small bodies and planetary satellites surfaces, allow the investigation of the outcome of collisional events (Rosetta, New Horizons, OSIRIS-REx, Hayabusa2, Dawn); asteroid families that are consequence of the collisional break-up of their parent bodies; collisions among asteroids of different compositions that can lead to surface contamination and material mixing.

Contributions related to the latest observational and modelling techniques applied to meteor science will be also included. This session will discuss recent results in recording meteor activity and modelling the process of ablation enabling the direct measurement of the flux of small planetary impactors.

Convener: Chrysa Avdellidou | Co-conveners: Mark Burchell, Apostolos Christou, Maria Gritsevich, Martin Jutzi, Jürgen Oberst, Elizabeth Silber, Joseph Trigo-Rodriguez, Pierre Vernazza, Jean Baptiste Vincent
| Thu, 19 Sep, 13:30–17:00
Mercury (Room 7+8)
| Attendance Thu, 19 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Wed, 18 Sep, 14:00–Fri, 20 Sep, 17:30|Basement

Thursday, 19 September 2019 | Mercury (Room 7+8)

Chairperson: Marco Delbo'
13:30–13:45 |
| solicited talk
William Bottke, David Vokrouhlicky, Ron Ballouz, Olivier Barnouin, Harold Connolly, Katherine Elder, Dante Lauretta, Tim McCoy, Patrick Michel, Michael Nolan, Bashar Rizk, Daniel Scheeres, Stephen Schwartz, and Kevin Walsh
13:45–13:55 |
Miroslav Broz, Pavel Sevecek, Pierre Vernazza, Laurent Jorda, Josef Hanus, Michael Marsset, Alexis Drouard, Matti Viikinkoski, Benoit Carry, Franck Marchis, Romain Fetick, Thierry Fusco, and Mirel Birlan
13:55–14:05 |
Olivier R. Hainaut, Jan Kleyna, Karen J. Meech, Mark Boslough, Marco Micheli, Richard Wainscoat, Marielle Dela Cruz, Jacqueline V. Keane, Devendra K. Sahu, and Bhuwan C. Bhatt
14:05–14:20 |
| solicited talk
Kelsi Singer, Alex Parker, Brett Gladman, William McKinnon, William Bottke, John Kavelaars, Jacob Simon, Alan Stern, Harold Weaver, John Spencer, and Cathy Olkin and the New Horizons Science Team
14:30–14:40 |
Petr Pokorny and Marc Kuchner
14:40–14:50 |
Kateryna Frantseva, Michael Mueller, Floris van der Tak, and Inge Loes ten Kate
14:50–15:00 |
Francois Colas, Simon Jeanne, Brigitte Zanda, Sylvain Bouley, Mirel Birlan, Pierre Vernazza, Jérémie Vaubaillon, Jérôme Gattacceca, Jean Louis Rault, Lucie Maquet, Cyrille Blanpain, Asma Steinhausser, Julien Lecubin, Adrien Malgoyre, and Pierre Hewins
Coffee break
Chairperson: Mark Burchell
15:30–15:45 |
| solicited talk
Martin Jutzi
15:45–15:55 |
A granular medium model for impacts and collisions of small bodies
Detlef de Niem
15:55–16:05 |
Chrysa Avdellidou, Cody Schultz, Mark Price, Alice DiDonna DiDonna, Mike Cole, Bart Harthong, Marco Delbo, Daniel Britt, and Robert Peyroux
16:05–16:15 |
Guy Libourel, Akiko Nakamura, Pierre Beck, Sandra Potin, Clement Ganino, Suzanne Jacomet, Ryo Ogawa, Sunao Hasagawa, and Patrick Michel
16:30–16:40 |
Michael DeLuca, Zoltan Sternovsky, Mihaly Horanyi, Tobin Munsat, Juan Diego Carillo-Sanchez, John Plane, and Diego Janches
16:40–16:50 |
Steve Desch, Joseph O'Rourke, Laura Schaefer, Devin Schrader, and Thomas Sharp
16:50–17:00 |
| solicited talk
Marco Delbo, Kevin Walsh, Chrysa Avdellidou, Sonia Fornasier, Rogerio Deienno, Gerard Van Belle, and Alessandro Morbidelli