Find the EGU on

Tag your tweets with #EGU17

Orals ST2.2


Plasma boundaries and transients explored by Magnetospheric Multiscale (MMS)
Convener: Rumi Nakamura  | Co-Conveners: Yuri Khotyaintsev , Michael Hesse , Matthew Argall 
 / Tue, 25 Apr, 13:30–17:00
 / Attendance Tue, 25 Apr, 17:30–19:00

Tuesday, 25 April 2017
Room L2
Chairperson: Rumi Nakamura
Localized Energy Conversion within a Reconnection Diffusion Region (solicited) Highlight
James Burch, Roy Torbert, Robert Ergun, Amy Rager, Barbara Giles, James Webster, Kevin Genestreti, Robert Allen, Tai Phan, John Dorelli, Daniel Gershman, Li-Jen Chen, Olivier Le Contel, Christopher Russell, Robert Strangeway, Shan Wang, Frederick Wilder, Daniel Graham, Paul Cassak, and Michael Hesse
On the collisionless magnetic reconnection rate of order 0.1 (solicited)
Yi-Hsin Liu, Michael Hesse, Fan Guo, William Daughton, Hui Li, Paul Cassak, and Michael Shay
Current Sheet Instabilities and Parallel Electric Fields Associated with Magnetic Reconnection
Robert Ergun, Li-Jen Chen, Frederick Wilder, Narges Ahmadi, Stefan Eriksson, Maria Usanova, Katherine Goodrich, Justin Holmes, David Newman, Roy Torbert, James Burch, James Drake, Lora Price, Marc Swisdak, Paul Cassak, Robert Strangeway, John Dorelli, Daniel Gershman, Micheal Hesse, and Julia Stawarz
Cold ions at the dayside magnetopause: implications for magnetic reconnection (solicited) Highlight
Sergio Toledo-Redondo, Mats Andre, Yuri Khotyaintsev, Benoit Lavraud, Wenya Li, Denise Perrone, Daniel Gershman, Barbara Giles, Craig Pollock, Stephen Fuselier, Per-Arne Lindqvist, Roy Torbert, and Christopher T. Russell
Magnetic Islands/Flux Ropes at the Earth’s Magnetopause observed by MMS
Stephen Fuselier, James Burch, Paul Cassak, Charles Farrugia, Barbara Giles, Roman Gomez, Benoit Lavraud, William Lewis, Joey Mukherjee, Marit Øieroset, Steven Petrinec, Christopher Russell, Robert Strangeway, Roy Torbert, Karlheinz Trattner, Philip Valek, and Sarah Vines
Particle Dynamics at and near the Electron and Ion Diffusion Regions as a Function of Guide Field
Barbara Giles, James Burch, Tai Phan, James Webster, Levon Avanov, Roy Torbert, Li-Jen Chen, Michael Chandler, John Dorelli, Robert Ergun, Stephen Fuselier, Daniel Gershman, Benoit Lavraud, Thomas Moore, William Paterson, Craig Pollock, Christopher Russell, Yoshifumi Saito, Robert Strangeway, and Shan Wang and the additional members of the MMS
Coffee break
Shock non-stationarity observed by MMS (solicited) Highlight
Andreas Johlander, Steven Schwartz, Andris Vaivads, Yuri Khotyaintsev, Imogen Gingell, Ivy Bo Peng, Stefano Markidis, Barbara Giles, Roy Torbert, and Christopher Russell
Event study of vortex-induced reconnection at the magnetopause using MMS observations and fully kinetic simulations
Takuma Nakamura, Hiroshi Hasegawa, Stefan Eriksson, Wenya Li, William Daughton, and Rumi Nakamura
Multi-case study of magnetosheath high-speed jets observed by MMS (solicited) Highlight
Ferdinand Plaschke, Tomas Karlsson, Heli Hietala, Rumi Nakamura, Roy B. Torbert, Christopher T. Russell, and Barbara L. Giles
Currents Forces and Magnetic Topology at the Magnetopause
Christopher T. Russell, Robert J. Strangeway, Cong Zhao, Brian J. Anderson, Wolfgang Baumjohann, Kenneth R. Bromund, David Fischer, James A. Slavin, Larry Kepko, Guan Le, Werner Magnes, Rumi Nakamura, Roy B. Torbert, William R. Paterson, Thomas E. Moore, Barbara L. Giles, Stephen A. Fuselier, and James L. Burch
MMS FEEPS Energetic Electron Microinjection Observations during 2015 and 2016
Joseph F. Fennell, Drew L. Turner, Colby L. Lemon, Allison Jaynes, JBernard Blake, James H. Clemmons, Daniel N. Baker, Barry H. Mauk, Ian J. Cohen, Harlen E. Spence, Shiva Kavosi, and James L. Burch
Electromagnetic waves and electron phase-space hole like signatures detected by MMS during a substorm
Olivier Le Contel, Rumi Nakamura, Matthieu Berthomier, Raymond Pottelette, Hugo Breuillard, Alessandro Retino, Thomas Chust, Laurent Mirioni, Matthew Argall, and David Fischer and the MMS team