For the open session, we welcome contributions on all aspects of ocean circulation from observations, models and theory, from regional to global scales, from air-sea exchanges to abyssal mixing. This year our session will include the Fridtjof Nansen medal award lecture, by Anne-Marie Treguier. We particularly encourage studies on the interannual to decadal variability and the internal and externally forced physical processes in the ocean. Because accurate estimation of energy and mass fluxes is critical for the closure of the ocean energy budget and the ocean's impact on the atmosphere, this session also welcomes works dealing with processes at the ocean's boundaries. This includes studies focusing on the fundamentals of air-sea flux physics, on the ocean's interaction with the cryosphere, as well as on the physical processes occurring at topographic boundaries. As usual the OS1.1 session also welcomes submissions that do not fit to any of the other special sessions; this includes the oceanography of the Pacific Ocean.

Convener: Eleanor Frajka-Williams | Co-conveners: Johannes Karstensen, Tarron Lamont, Isabela Le Bras
| Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room L6
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X4

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room L6

Chairperson: 16612
14:00–15:00 |
Anne Marie Tréguier
Chairperson: 16612
15:00–15:15 |
Josefine Herrford, Rebecca Hummels, Peter Brandt, Torsten Kanzow, and Marcus Dengler
Chairperson: 16612
15:15–15:30 |
Cristina Russo, Tarron Lamont, Gavin Tutt, Marcel van den Berg, Isabelle Ansorge, and Ray Barlow
Chairperson: 16612
15:30–15:45 |
Femke de Jong, Amy Bower, Henrik Soiland, and Heather Furey
Coffee break
Chairperson: 16613
16:15–16:30 |
| solicited
Thomas Frölicher
Chairperson: 16613
16:30–16:45 |
Erik Behrens, Denise Fernandez, and Phil Sutton
Chairperson: 16613
16:45–17:00 |
Levke Caesar, Stefan Rahmstorf, and Georg Feulner
Chairperson: 16613
17:00–17:15 |
Tiago Carrilho Bilo and William Johns
Chairperson: 16613
17:15–17:30 |
Esther Portela, Nicolas Kolodziejczyk, Christophe Maes, and Virginie Thierry
Chairperson: 16613
Chairperson: 16613
17:45–18:00 |
Analysis of ocean connections between the North Atlantic, Weddell Sea and the Antarctic Circumpolar Current in CMIP5 models
Sergey Molodtsov, Irina Marinov, Behzad Asadieh, John Edward San Soucie, Anna Cabre, and Ron Maor