Aerosol particles are key components of the earth system important in radiative balance, human health, and other areas of key societal concern. Understanding their formation, evolution and impacts relies on developments from multiple disciplines covering both experimental laboratory work, field studies and numerical modelling. In this general session all topics of Aerosol Chemistry and Physics are covered. Contributions from aerosol laboratory, field, remote sensing and model studies are all highly encouraged.

As in previous years, this year the session will dedicate some of its time to focus on a hot topic which this year is aerosol volatility. Despite significant advances in experimental techniques, it is still thought that an incomplete understanding of factors that dictate gas-particle partitioning remains one of the major uncertainties in predicting atmospheric aerosol concentrations, composition, life-time and subsequent impacts. With this in mind, aside from general submissions on aerosol research, we encourage contributions from work within the broad focus of aerosol volatility. These might include work on:
• New process pathway identification
• Molecular scale investigations, from single component to complex mixtures
• Evidence from field studies
• New experimental capabilities
• New modelling capabilities
• Impact studies

Convener: Annele Virtanen | Co-conveners: Francis Pope, Ilona Riipinen, David Topping
| Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room 0.60, Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15, 10:45–12:30
Room 0.60
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X5

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room 0.60

Chairperson: Ilona Riipinen
16:15–16:30 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Maria Sand, Terje Berntsen, Anna Lewinschal, Annica Ekman, and Hans Christen Hansson
16:30–16:45 |
Hang Su, Jeannine Ditas, Ulrich Pöschl, and Yafang Cheng and the CARIBIC-SP2 Team
17:00–17:15 |
Eleni Dovrou, Jean C. Rivera-Rios, Kelvin H. Bates, Joshua D. Shutter, and Frank N. Keutsch
17:15–17:30 |
Xinhui Bi, Guohua Zhang, Qinhao Lin, and Duohong Chen
17:30–17:45 |
Bernadette Rosati, Sigurd Christiansen, Anders Dinesen, Andreas Massling, and Merete Bilde
17:45–18:00 |
Yicheng Shen, Virkkula Aki, Aijun Ding, Veli-Matti kerminen, Xuguang Chi, Helmi-Marja Keskinen, and Markku Kulmala

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room 0.60

Chairperson: David Topping
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Otso Peräkylä, Pontus Roldin, Liine Heikkinen, Olga Garmash, Yanjun Zhang, Lauriane Quéléver, Chao Yan, Meri Räty, Matthieu Riva, and Mikael Ehn
08:45–09:00 |
Eiko Nemitz, Ben Langford, Chiara Di Marco, Neil Mullinger, Nicholas Cowan, Yele Sun, Jian Zhao, and Pingqing Fu
09:00–09:15 |
Markus Müller, Joris Leglise, Felix Piel, and Armin Wisthaler
09:15–09:30 |
Thomas Berkemeier, Masayuki Takeuchi, Gamze Eris, and Nga L. Ng
09:30–09:45 |
Taina Yli-Juuti, Zijun Li, Olli-Pekka Tikkanen, Angela Buchholz, Eetu Kari, Liqing Hao, and Annele Virtanen
09:45–10:00 |
Sara Marie Blichner, Moa Sporre, Risto Makkonen, and Terje K. Berntsen
10:00–10:15 |
Christian Pfrang
Coffee break
Chairperson: Annele Virtanen
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
Wei Huang, Harald Saathoff, Xiaoli Shen, Ramakrishna Ramisetty, Thomas Leisner, and Claudia Mohr
11:00–11:15 |
Rongrong Wu, Sungah Kang, Sascha Albrecht, Luisa Hantschke, Epameinondas Tsiligiannis, Mattias Hallquist, and Thomas F. Mentel
11:15–11:30 |
| Highlight
Temperature effect on phase state and reactivity controls atmospheric multiphase chemistry and transport of PAHs
Yafang Cheng, Qing Mu, Manabu Shiraiwa, Mega Octaviani, Nan Ma, Aijun Ding, Hang Su, Gerhard Lammel, and Ulrich Pöschl
11:30–11:45 |
Peter Alpert, Markus Ammann, Pablo Corral Arroyo, Jing Dou, Beiping Luo, Thomas Peter, Yanisha Manoharan, Kasia Arturi, Saša Bjelic, Hartmut Herrmann, and Ulrich Krieger
11:45–12:00 |
Duseong Jo, Alma Hodzic, Louisa Emmons, Eloise Marais, Zhe Peng, Benjamin Nault, Weiwei Hu, Pedro Campuzano-Jost, and Jose Jimenez
12:00–12:15 |
Dimitrios Bousiotis, Manuel Dall'Osto, David C.S. Beddows, Francis D. Pope, Andreas Massling, and Roy M. Harrison
12:15–12:30 |
Agnieszka Kupc, Christina Williamson, Anna L. Hodshire, Jeffrey R. Pierce, Eric Ray, Jan Kazil, Karl Froyd, Mathews Richardson, Maximilian Dollner, Bernadett Weinzierl, Frank Erdesz, T. Paul Bui, and Charles A. Brock