Geochronological frameworks are essential for the study of landscape evolution. Over the last decades, geochronological techniques such as cosmogenic nuclides, thermochronology, radiocarbon and luminescence dating have improved in accuracy, precision, and temporal range. Recently, the development of new approaches, new isotopic/mineral systems, and the increasing combination of these techniques are expanding their range of applications. This session explores these advances and novel applications, which include the study of erosional rates and processes, sediment provenance, burial and transport times, bedrock exposure or cooling histories, landscape dynamics, and the examination of potential biases and discordances in geochronological data. We welcome contributions that use dating tools which are established or in development, particularly those that quantify geomorphological processes with novel approaches and/or generic implications. We encourage studies that combine different techniques (e.g. CRN, luminescence, thermochronology, etc.) or data sets (e.g. field, remote sensing, numerical modelling), and/or highlight the latest developments and open questions in the application of geochronometers to landscape evolution questions.

Invited speakers: Prof. Kristina Hippe and Prof. Todd Ehlers.

Co-organized as CL5.15/CR4.7/SSP1.4
Convener: Duna Roda-Boluda | Co-conveners: Christoph Schmidt, Stefanie Tofelde, Renee van Dongen, Tony Reimann
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room D3
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X2

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room D3

Chairperson: Duna Roda-Boluda and Christoph Schmidt
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Todd A. Ehlers, Alex L. Densmore, Mirjam Schaller, Byron A. Adams, Mohammadreza Ershadi, and Sebastian G. Mutz
08:45–09:00 |
| Highlight
Michal Ben Israel, Ari Matmon, and Samuel Niedermann
09:15–09:30 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Kristina Hippe, John D. Jansen, Daniel S. Skov, Maarten Lupker, Susan Ivy-Ochs, Florian Kober, Gerold Zeilinger, José M. Capriles, Marcus Christl, Colin Maden, Christof Vockenhuber, and David L. Egholm
09:30–09:45 |
Hella Wittmann, Friedhelm von Blanckenburg, Kai Deng, Nadine Dannhaus, Pavel Krám, Shouye Yang, and Marcus Christl
09:45–10:00 |
Benjamin Lehmann, Frederic Herman, Pierre G. Valla, Georgina E. King, and Rabiul H. Biswas
10:00–10:15 |
Chloe Bouscary, Georgina E. King, Frédéric Herman, Jérôme Lavé, Ananta Gajurel, Rabiul H. Biswas, Rafael Almeida, and György Hetényi