Mountain environments host highly dynamical and widespread erosion, sedimentation, and weathering processes. These processes cover a wide range of temporal and spatial scales, from glacial & periglacial erosion, mechanical & chemical weathering, rock fall, debris flows, landslides, to river aggradation & incision. These processes react to a wide spectrum of external and internal forcings, including permafrost retreat, strong precipitation events, climate change, earthquakes or sudden internal failure. Measuring the dynamical interplay of erosion, sedimentation as well as quantifying their rates and fluxes is an important part of source to sink research but it is highly challenging and often limited by difficult terrain. Furthermore, these dynamical processes can threaten important mountain infrastructures and need to be understood and quantified for a better societal and engineering preparation to the natural hazards they pose.

We welcome contributions investigating:
- sediment mobilization and deposition
- links between erosion, weathering, and the carbon cycle
- concepts of dynamics and connectivity of sediments and solutes
- quantification of erosion, sedimentation, and weathering fluxes in space and time
- sediment travel times and transport processes
- interaction of stabilizing and destabilizing processes on the slopes
We invite presentations that focus on conceptual, methodological, or modelling approaches or a combination of those in mountain environments and particularly encourage early career scientists to apply for this session.

Co-organized as CR4.8/HS9.2.4/NH3.19/SSS2.20
Convener: Luca C Malatesta | Co-conveners: Jan Henrik Blöthe, Aaron Bufe, Kristen Cook, Sabine Kraushaar
| Wed, 10 Apr, 08:30–12:30, 14:00–15:45
Room D3
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X2

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room D3

Chairperson: Sabine Kraushaar
08:30–08:45 |
Jente Broeckx, Mauro Rossi, Kobe Lijnen, Benjamin Campforts, Jean Poesen, and Matthias Vanmaercke
08:45–09:00 |
Lisa Harrison, Stuart Dunning, John Woodward, and Tim Davies
09:00–09:15 |
Jerome Lave, Florian Gallo, Christian France Lanord, Guillaume Morin, and Ananta Gajurel
09:15–09:30 |
Odin Marc, Robert Behling, Christoff Andermann, Jens Turowski, Luc Illien, Sigrid Roessner, and Niels Hovius
09:30–09:45 |
| Highlight
David Puhl, Jens Turowski, Christoff Andermann, Michael Dietze, Kristen Cook, and Odin Marc
09:45–10:00 |
Duna Roda-Boluda, Taylor Schildgen, Hella Wittmann-Oelze, Jeff Prancevic, Stefanie Tofelde, and Aaron Bufe
10:00–10:15 |
Huw Mithan, Tristram Hales, and Peter Cleall
Coffee break
Chairperson: Aaron Bufe
10:45–11:00 |
Katrin Meusburger and Christine Alewell
11:15–11:30 |
Girma Worku Awoke, Jef Brees, Pascal Boeckx, Karen Vancampenhout, Enyew Adgo, Jan Nyssen, Mengiste Abate, Alemayehu Wassie, Amaury Frankl, and Gert Verstraeten
11:30–11:45 |
| Highlight
Claire E Lukens, Kevin P Norton, Dennis E Dahms, and Eron R Raines
12:00–12:15 |
Nina Golombek, Joel Scheingross, Marisa Repasch, Niels Hovius, Dirk Sachse, Maarten Lupker, Timothy Eglinton, and Darren Gröcke
12:15–12:30 |
Marco Donnini, Ivan Marchesini, and Azzurra Zucchini
Lunch break
Chairperson: Luca Malatesta
14:00–14:15 |
Tara Jonell, Lewis Owen, Andrew Carter, and Peter Clift
14:30–14:45 |
Mitch D'Arcy, Taylor Schildgen, and Pedro DiNezio
14:45–15:00 |
François Mettra, Gilles Antoniazza, Dieter Rickenmann, and Stuart N. Lane
15:00–15:15 |
Carole Petit, Tristan Salles, Yann Rolland, Guillaume Duclaux, and Apolline Mariotti
15:15–15:30 |
Stefanie Tofelde, Sara Savi, Andrew Wickert, Aaron Bufe, and Taylor Schildgen
15:30–15:45 |
Jan-Christoph Otto, Markus Keuschnig, Erwin Heine, and Roberto Guidici