Present-day glacial and periglacial processes in cold regions, i.e. arctic and alpine environments, provide modern analogues to processes and climatic changes that took place during the Pleistocene, including gradual retreat or collapse of ice sheets and mountain glaciers, and melting and shrinking of low-land permafrost. Current changes in mid-latitude mountain ranges could also serve as a proxy for future changes in arctic regions within a context of climate change (e.g. speed-up of creeping permafrost features, relictification of rock glaciers).

We invite contributions that either:
1. investigate present-day glacial and/or periglacial landforms, sediments and processes to describe the current state, to reconstruct past environmental conditions and to predict future scenarios in cold regions; or
2. have a Quaternary focus and aim at enhancing our understanding of past glacial, periglacial and paraglacial processes, also through the application of dating techniques.

Case studies that use a multi-disciplinary approach (e.g. field, laboratory and modelling techniques) and/or that highlight the interaction between the glacial, periglacial and paraglacial cryospheric components in cold regions are particularly welcome.

Keynote lecture:
Hanne Hvidtfeldt Christiansen (Svalbard): Permafrost thermal dynamics in periglacial landforms in Svalbard during the last decade
Martin Margold (Prague): The retreat chronology of the western Laurentide Ice Sheet

Co-organized as CL4.34/CR4.4
Convener: Sven Lukas | Co-conveners: Isabelle Gärtner-Roer, Andreas Kellerer-Pirklbauer
| Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45, 16:15–18:00
Room G2
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X2

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room G2

Chairperson: 16095
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Martin Margold, John C. Gosse, Alan J. Hidy, Robin J. Woywitka, Joseph M. Young, and Duane Froese
Chairperson: 16095
14:15–14:30 |
Margot Böse, Jacob Hardt, and Christopher Lüthgens
Chairperson: 16095
14:30–14:45 |
Benjamin Chandler, Sven Lukas, and Clare Boston
Chairperson: 16095
14:45–15:00 |
Igor Girault, Dominique Todisco, Carole Nehme, Amélie Quiquerez, Fabiana Martin, Luis Borrero, Attila Ciner, Mehmet Akif Sarikaya, Cengiz Yildirim, and Damase Mouralis
Chairperson: 16095
Chairperson: 16095
15:15–15:30 |
| Highlight
Frances E.G. Butcher, Matt R. Balme, Colman Gallagher, Robert D. Storrar, Susan J. Conway, Neil S. Arnold, Stephen R. Lewis, and Axel Hagermann
Chairperson: 16095
15:30–15:45 |
Eike F. Rades, Reza Sohbati, Helena Alexanderson, Mayank Jain, and Andrew S. Murray
Coffee break
Chairperson: 16096
16:15–16:30 |
| solicited
Hanne Hvidtfeldt Christiansen and Sarah Marie Strand
Chairperson: 16096
16:30–16:45 |
Karianne Lilleøren, Bernd Etzelmüller, and John Dehls
Chairperson: 16096
16:45–17:00 |
Alessandro Cicoira, Jan Beutel, and Andreas Vieli
Chairperson: 16096
17:00–17:15 |
Paula Hilger, Bernd Etzelmüller, Kristin S. Myhra, Reginald L. Hermanns, Benjamin Jacobs, Michael Krautblatter, Florence Magnin, and Sebastian Westermann
Chairperson: 16096
17:15–17:30 |
Mary Evans and Jasper Knight
Chairperson: 16096
17:30–17:45 |
Alexandru Onaca, Adrian Ardelean, Brigitte Magori, Mircea Voiculescu, Florina Ardelean, Emil Gachev, and Flavius Sirbu
Chairperson: 16096