This session seeks to explore current research into sediment dispersal systems from a process-based and quantitative source-to-sink perspective.

The study of source-to-sink systems relates long-term variations in sediment flux from source terrains to the morphological and stratigraphic evolution of depositional systems. These variations can reflect allogenic controls and/or autogenic self-organization over a wide range of time scales. Earth’s modern source-to-sink systems are becoming increasingly well characterized due to the proliferation and analysis of big data by academic researchers and industry scientists. Moreover, much progress has also been made transforming these insights into the potential for quantitative and predictive insights into the ancient stratigraphic record, but this remains a major challenge that requires integration of field data, numerical models, and experimental results.

We invite contributions based on observation of field and remotely-sensed data as well as analogue and numerical modelling. We aim to cover a large range of autogenic and allogenic forcing mechanisms that operate on multiple time scales from the significance of individual transport events to the large-scale filling of sedimentary basins.

Convener: Sara Morón | Co-conveners: Mike Blum, William Helland-Hansen, Björn Nyberg, Tor Sømme
| Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room -2.32
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X1

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room -2.32

Chairperson: Morón & Blum
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
David M. Hodgson, Janet Richardson, Albertina Nakashole, and Grace Cosgrove
14:15–14:30 |
Impacts of riparian vegetation on neck cutoff in an experimental meandering channel
Zhiwei Li, Peng Gao, and Xinyu Wu
14:30–14:45 |
Catharina Heerema, Peter Talling, Matthieu Cartigny, Charles Paull, Lewis Bailey, Stephen Simmons, Daniel Parsons, Michael Clare, Roberto Gwiazda, Eve Lundsten, Krystle Anderson, Katherine Maier, and Jingping Xu
14:45–15:00 |
Valentina Rossi, Ivan Staine, Matteo Gennaro, Snorre Olaussen, and William Helland-Hansen
15:00–15:15 |
Emmanuel Roquette, Stefan Schröder, Tim Luber, Shane Tyrrell, and Jonathan Redfern
15:30–15:45 |
Virgil Pasquier, Sidonie Revillon, Estelle Leroux, Stephane Molliex, and Marina Rabineau
Coffee break
Chairperson: Helland-Hansen, Nyberg, Somme
16:15–16:30 |
Stephan Toby, Robert Duller, Silvio De Angelis, and Kyle Straub
17:00–17:15 |
Julian Hülscher, Gero Fischer, Patrick Grunert, Gerald Auer, and Anne Bernhardt
17:15–17:30 |
Cécile Robin, François Guillocheau, Guillaume Baby, and Simon Brendan
17:30–17:45 |
Jean-Pierre Ponte, Cécile Robin, François Guillocheau, and Guillaume Baby
17:45–18:00 |
Simon Brendan, Robin Cécile, Rouby Delphine, Braun Jean, Yuan Xiaoping, Guerit Laure, and Guillocheau François