During the past decades numerous sediment records have become available from lakes and paleolakes through shallow and (ICDP) deep drilling. These records have proven to be valuable archives of past climate and environmental change, and tectonic and volcanic activity. We invite contributions emphasizing quantitative and spatial assessments of rates of change, causes and consequences of long- and short-term climate variability, impact, magnitude, and frequency of tectonic and volcanic activity as deduced from sedimentological, geochemical, biological, and chronological tools.

Solicited speaker: Christine Y. Chen (MIT, USA): “Establishing robust lake sediment chronologies: Lessons from U/Th dating the deep drill core from Lake Junín, Peru”

Co-organized as BG4.4/CL1.29, co-sponsored by IAS and SEPM
Convener: Hendrik Vogel | Co-conveners: Daniel Ariztegui, Marc De Batist, Martin Melles, Jasper Moernaut
| Mon, 08 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room D3
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X1

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room D3

Chairperson: Hendrik Vogel, Marc De Batist, Daniel Ariztegui, Martin Melles, Jasper Moernaut
08:30–08:45 |
Christine Chen, Arielle Woods, Rob Hatfield, David McGee, R. Lawrence Edwards, Blas Valero-Garcés, Joseph Stoner, Nick Weidhaas, Irit Tal, Pedro Miguel Tapia, Mark Bush, Mark Abbott, and Don Rodbell
08:45–09:00 |
Alberto Reyes, Serhiy Buryak, Jessica Tierney, Peter Siver, Dana Royer, Joshua Davies, and Alexander Wolfe
09:00–09:15 |
Mary Ford, Robert Gawthorpe, Lisa McNeill, Donna Shillington, and Gareth Carter and the IODP Expedition 381 team
09:15–09:30 |
Guillaume Jouve, Laurence Vidal, Rachid Adallal, Ali Rhoujjati, Abdelfattah benkaddour, Emmanuel Chapron, Kazuyo Tachikawa, Edouard Bard, Thierry Courp, Laurent Dezileau, Bertil Hebert, William Rapuc, Anaëlle Simonneau, Corinne Sonzogni, and Florence Sylvestre
09:30–09:45 |
Marion Corbé, Alexis Nutz, Mathieu Schuster, Anne Delagnes, Jean-Yves Reynaud, and Jean-Renaud Boisserie
09:45–10:00 |
Jack Lacey, John Boyle, Charlotte Briddon, Stefan Engels, Mushrifah Idris, Melanie Leng, Melody Li, Suzanne McGowan, Keely Mills, Virginia Panizzo, David Ryves, Muhammad Shafiq, Christopher Vane, and Lara Winter
10:00–10:15 |
Maarten Van Daele, Flor Vermassen, Maxim Deprez, Catherine Kissel, Marijn Boone, Nore Praet, and Flavio S. Anselmetti