The southeast Atlantic off the African south western coast is the location for interactions between aerosols, clouds, and radiation ultimately affecting climate. A wide-spread stratocumulus cloud deck is a permanent feature in this region shaping the regional radiation budget, the local water budget through the formation of coastal fog, and potentially the global climate. Aerosols from multiple sources, including biomass and fuel burning, mineral dust, and marine, emitted or transported below or above the cloud deck, can significantly change the microphysical and radiative properties of the clouds. Currently these processes are poorly understood, which is reflected in the diversity of model simulation results of radiative forcing. Studies that present new observations and modelling of the aforementioned properties, interactions and implications over the southeast Atlantic and adjacent continental regions are solicited

Convener: Paola Formenti | Co-conveners: Jan Cermak, Jim Haywood, Jens Redemann, Paquita Zuidema
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room 0.49
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X5

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room 0.49

08:30–08:45 |
Marco Gaetani, Carmen Alvarez-Castro, Cyrille Flamant, Benjamin Pohl, and Paola Formenti
08:45–09:00 |
Hendrik Andersen, Jan Cermak, Julia Fuchs, Irina Solodovnik, Luca Lelli, Roland Vogt, and Sebastian Sippel
09:00–09:15 |
Jianhao Zhang, Paquita Zuidema, and Takanobu Yamaguchi
09:15–09:30 |
Cyrille Flamant, Jean-Pierre Chaboureau, Judd Welton, Marc Mallet, Kerstin Schepanski, Aurélien Chauvigné, Marco Gaetani, Patrick Chazette, Simone Lolli, Fabien Waquet, Alexandre Baron, Marc D. Mallet, Stuart J. Piketh, Laurent Labbouz, and Paola Formenti
09:30–09:45 |
Haochi Che, Duncan Watson-Parris, and Philip Stier
09:45–10:00 |
Kristina Pistone, Jens Redemann, Sarah Doherty, Paquita Zuidema, Sharon Burton, Brian Cairns, Sabrina Cochrane, Richard Ferrare, Connor Flynn, Steffen Freitag, Steve Howell, Meloë Kacenelenbogen, Samuel LeBlanc, Sebastian Schmidt, Arthur Sedlacek, Michal Segal-Rosenhaimer, Yohei Shinozuka, Snorre Stamnes, Gerard Van Harten, and Feng Xu and the ORACLES Science Team