The Middle East is home to about 350 million people. It is endowed with about half the proven oil and gas reserves on the planet, and also has rich solar resources. The Middle East also has exceptional environmental qualities, with extensive deserts, and is among the most water-scarce regions on Earth. It is subject to dust storms and heat extremes, and in some parts photochemical air pollution is unparalleled (Alizadeh-Choobari et al., 2014). Model simulations show that climate change in the Middle East is associated with particularly rapid warming in summer, and that effectively the hot desert climate is intensifying (Lelieveld et al., 2016). When the surface temperature increases over dry desert soils, relative humidity decreases, which promotes dust mobilization (Klingmuller et al., 2016). Although the Middle East is a global change hot spot, it receives relatively little attention, e.g., in reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC,2013). One reason is that observational data are insufficient, unavailable or of limited quality.
AQABA was a comprehensive ship borne measurement and modeling campaign of reactive gases and particles, to study the pronounced regional contrasts that occur in atmospheric pollutant and dust concentrations. It took place in summer 2017 covering a track from Toulon, France to Kuwait through the Mediterranean and around the Arabian Peninsula and back.
The session invites all relevant contributions from the region and results from the AQABA campaign will be presented.

Convener: Hartwig Harder | Co-conveners: Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, Nikos Hatzianastassiou, Stéphane Sauvage, Jean Sciare, Nijing Wang
| Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room F1
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X5

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room F1

Chairperson: Nikos Hatzianastassiou
14:00–14:15 |
| Highlight
Pinhas Alpert and Yossi Barkan
14:15–14:30 |
Rosa M Flores, Elif Mertoğlu, Ayşegül Pursa, Hüseyin Özdemir, Bülent Akkoyunlu, Göksel Demir, Alper Ünal, and Mete Tayanç
14:30–14:45 |
Anastasia Panopoulou, Eleni Liakakou, Valérie Gros, Nadine Locoge, Bernard Bonsang, Nikolaos Mihalopoulos, and Stéphane Sauvage
14:45–15:00 |
Thomas Druge, Pierre Nabat, Marc Mallet, and Samuel Somot
15:00–15:15 |
Jean-Daniel Paris, Aurélie Riandet, Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, Marc Delmotte, Antoine Berchet, and Isabelle Pison
15:15–15:30 |
Nijing Wang, Eva Pfannerstill, Achim Edtbauer, Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, John Crowley, Dirk Dienhart, Philipp Eger, Horst Fischer, Bettina Hottmann, Jean-Daniel Paris, Christof Stönner, Ivan Tadic, Jos Lelieveld, and Jonathan Williams
15:30–15:45 |
Dirk Dienhart, Bettina Hottmann, Ivan Tadić, Uwe Parchatka, Andrea Pozzer, Benedikt Steil, Jos Lelieveld, and Horst Fischer
Coffee break
Chairperson: Efstratios Bourtsoukidis
16:15–16:30 |
Ivan Tadic, John N. Crowley, Philipp Eger, Hartwig Harder, Uwe Parchatka, Jan Schuladen, Jos Lelieveld, and Horst Fischer
16:30–16:45 |
Philipp Eger, Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, James Brooks, Eoghan Darbyshire, Achim Edtbauer, Lisa Ernle, Nils Friedrich, Michael Pikridas, Jan Schuladen, Justin Shenolikar, Ivan Tadic, Stephan Borrmann, Frank Drewnick, Horst Fischer, Jonathan Williams, Jos Lelieveld, and John Crowley
16:45–17:00 |
Nils Friedrich, Philipp Eger, Justin Shenolikar, Ivan Tadic, Dirk Dienhart, James Brooks, Eoghan Darbyshire, Frank Drewnick, Horst Fischer, John Crowley, Stephan Borrmann, and Jos Lelieveld
17:00–17:15 |
Achim Edtbauer, Christof Stönner, Matias Berasategui, Dirk Dienhart, Philipp Eger, Nils Friedrich, Bettina Hottmann, Ivan Tadic, John Crowley, Horst Fischer, Jos Lelieveld, and Jonathan Williams
17:15–17:30 |
Marco Wietzoreck, Benjamin Acham Musa Bandowe, Minas Iakovides, Petr Kukučka, Jan Kuta, Marios Kyprianou, Barbora Nežiková, Petra Příbylová, Roman Prokeš, Euripides Stephanou, Hartwig Harder, Johannes Lelieveld, Ulrich Pöschl, and Gerhard Lammel
17:30–17:45 |
Florin Unga, Ioana Elisabeta Popovici, Gaël Dubois, Luc Blarel, Michael Pikridas, Panos Vouterakos, Jean Sciare, Philippe Goloub, Benjamin Torres, Stéphane Victori, Fabrice Maupin, Marius Canini, Augustin Mortier, and Jos Lelieveld
17:45–18:00 |
Charlotte Beall, Tobias Könemann, Thomas Hill, Paul DeMott, Hartwig Harder, Christopher Pöhlker, Jos Lelieveld, Bettina Weber, Meinrat Andreae, M. Dale Stokes, and Kimberly Prather