The Middle East is home to about 350 million people. It is endowed with about half the proven oil and gas reserves on the planet, and also has rich solar resources. The Middle East also has exceptional environmental qualities, with extensive deserts, and is among the most water-scarce regions on Earth. It is subject to dust storms and heat extremes, and in some parts photochemical air pollution is unparalleled (Alizadeh-Choobari et al., 2014). Model simulations show that climate change in the Middle East is associated with particularly rapid warming in summer, and that effectively the hot desert climate is intensifying (Lelieveld et al., 2016). When the surface temperature increases over dry desert soils, relative humidity decreases, which promotes dust mobilization (Klingmuller et al., 2016). Although the Middle East is a global change hot spot, it receives relatively little attention, e.g., in reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC,2013). One reason is that observational data are insufficient, unavailable or of limited quality.
AQABA was a comprehensive ship borne measurement and modeling campaign of reactive gases and particles, to study the pronounced regional contrasts that occur in atmospheric pollutant and dust concentrations. It took place in summer 2017 covering a track from Toulon, France to Kuwait through the Mediterranean and around the Arabian Peninsula and back.
The session invites all relevant contributions from the region and results from the AQABA campaign will be presented.

Convener: Hartwig Harder | Co-conveners: Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, Nikos Hatzianastassiou, Stéphane Sauvage, Jean Sciare, Nijing Wang
| Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room F1
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X5

Attendance time: Thursday, 11 April 2019, 08:30–10:15 | Hall X5

Chairperson: Nijing Wang
X5.340 |
Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, Lisa Ernle, John N. Crowley, Jos Lelieveld, Jean-Daniel Paris, Andrea Pozzer, David Walter, and Jonathan Williams
X5.342 |
John Kapsomenakis, Pavlos Kalabokas, Christos Zerefos, Antje Inness, Henk Eskes, and Lida Dimitriadou
X5.343 |
Justin Shenolikar, Stephen Borrmann, James Brooks, Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, Eoghan Darbyshire, Frank Drewnick, Philipp Eger, Lisa Ernle, Friederike Fachinger, Horst Fischer, Ivan Tadic, Jonathan Williams, Jos Lelieveld, and John Crowley
X5.344 |
Sebastian Tauer, Roland Rohloff, Efstratios Bourtsoukidis, Manas Dash, Dirk Dienhart, Achim Edtbauer, Philipp Eger, Lisa Ernle, Nils Friedrich, Bettina Hottmann, Daniel Marno, Monica Martinez, Jean-Daniel Paris, Eva Y. Pfannerstill, Rolf Sander, Jan Schuladen, Ivan Tadic, Anywhere Tsokankunku, Jos Lelieveld, Guo Li, Yafang Cheng, and Hartwig Harder and the AQABA team
X5.345 |
Steffen Dörner, Sebastian Donner, Lisa Behrens, Steffen Beirle, and Thomas Wagner
X5.346 |
Spyridon Bezantakos, Konstantinos Barmpounis, Michael Pikridas, Florin Unga, James Brooks, Eoghan Darbyshire, Frank Drewnick, Friederike Fachinger, Stephan Borrman, Johannes Lelieveld, and George Biskos
X5.347 |
Michael Pikridas, Frank Drewnick, John N. Crowley, Mihalis Vrekoussis, Panos Vouterakos, Konstantinos Barmpounis, Yevgeny Derimian, Florin Unga, Rhys Evans, Irena Jezek, James Brooks, Stephan Borrmann, Jean Sciare, and Johannes Lelieveld
X5.348 |
Siham Al Hadhrami, Douglas Lowe, James Brooks, Eoghan Darbyshire, Stephan Borrmann, Frank Drewnick, Ivan Tadic, Philipp Eger, John Crowley, Lenard Kron, Horst Fischer, and Gordon McFiggans
X5.349 |
Damjana Ćurkov, Sonja Vidič, Martin Belavić, Stjepana Brzaj, Darijo Brzoja, and Velimir Milić
X5.350 |
Maria Kezoudi, Matthias Tesche, Helen Smith, Joseph Ulanowski, Alexandra Tsekeri, Holger Baars, Nikos Siomos, Victor Estellés, Linda Miladi, Detlef Müller, Vassilis Amiridis, and Bernadett Weinzierl
X5.351 |
Stjepana Brzaj, Sonja Vidič, Martin Belavić, Darijo Brzoja, Damjana Ćurkov, and Velimir Milić
X5.352 |
Stavros Kolios and Nikos Hatzianastassiou
X5.353 |
Ioannis Manthos, Nikos Hatzianastassiou, Angeliki Fotiadi, Elias Houssos, and Nikos Koutsias
X5.354 |
Continuous observations of CO2 and CH4 in Italy by four permanent observatories
Paolo Cristofanelli, Pamela Trisolino, Alcide di Sarra, Daniela Meloni, Damiano Sferlazzo, Salvatore Piacentino, Francesco Monteleone, Francesco Apadula, Daniela Heltai, Andrea Lanza, Antonio Vocino, Luigi Caracciolo di Torchiarolo, Paolo Bonasoni, Francescopiero Calzolari, Michela Maione, and Jgor Arduini
X5.355 |
Pavlos Kalabokas, John Kapsomenakis, Nikos Mihalopoulos, and Christos Zerefos
X5.356 |
Nikos Hatzianastassiou, Maria Gavrouzou, Antonis Gkikas, and Nikos Mihalopoulos