The Alpine-Himalayan orogenic belt is one of the largest and most prominent suture zones on Earth. The belt ranges from the Mediterranean in the west to Indonesia in the east. It results from the subduction and closing of different branches of the Tethyan Oceanic Realm and the subsequent collision of the African, Arabian and Indian continental plates with Eurasia. Its long-lasting geological record of complex interactions among major and smaller plates, featuring the presence of subduction zones at different evolutionary stages, has progressively grown as a comprehensive test site to investigate fundamental plate tectonics and geodynamic processes with multi-disciplinary studies. Advances in a variety of geophysical and geological fields provide a rich and growing set of constraints on the crust-lithosphere and mantle structure, as well as tectonics and geodynamic evolution of the entire mountain belt

We welcome contributions presenting new insights and observations derived from different perspectives like geology (stratigraphy, petrology, geochronology, geochemistry, tectonics and geomorphology), geophysics (seismicity, seismic imaging, seismic anisotropy, gravity), geodesy (GPS, InSAR), modelling (numerical and analogue), risk assessment (earthquake, volcanism), as well as from multi-disciplinary studies.

Keynote Presentations:
-Insights into the transitions in the Banda Arc-Australian continental collision from seismic imaging of deep slab structures by Meghan Miller (Australian National University)
-Active tectonics of Iran and the South Caspian: from earthquakes to
mountain-building by Richard Walker(Oxford University)

Co-organized as GD6.5/SM4.23
Convener: Ágnes Király | Co-conveners: Derya Gürer, Marc Hässig, Claudia Piromallo, Jonas B. Ruh
| Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–18:00
Room D3
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X2

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room D3

Chairperson: Ágnes Király, Claudia Piromallo
West - The Mediterranean
10:45–11:00 |
Sebastian G. Wolf, Ritske S. Huismans, Josep A. Muñoz, Peter van der Beek, and Magdalena Ellis Curry
11:00–11:15 |
Marco Giovanni Malusa', Wei-Qiang Ji, Eduardo Garzanti, Massimo Tiepolo, Liang Zhao, Antonio Langone, Giuditta Radeff, and Fu-Yuan Wu
11:15–11:30 |
Erica Erlanger, Yanyan Wang, Sean Gallen, Vincenzo Picotti, and Sean Willett
11:30–11:45 |
Nicholas Schliffke, Jeroen van Hunen, Frederic Gueydan, Mark B. Allen, and Valentina Magni
11:45–12:00 |
Nienke Blom, Alexey Gokhberg, and Andreas Fichtner
12:00–12:15 |
Vincent Roche, Laurent Jolivet, Laurent Guillou-Frottier, Stéphane Scaillet, Vincent Bouchot, Johann Tuduri, Armel Menant, Pietro Sternai, Dimitrios Papanikolaou, and Erdin Bozkurt
12:15–12:30 |
Bernhard Grasemann, David A. Schneider, and Anna Rogowitz
Center - Anatolia and Iran
Lunch break
Chairperson: Jonas Ruh, Marc Haessig
14:00–14:15 |
Gordon Lister and Marnie Forster
14:15–14:30 |
Mary Reid, Jonathan Delph, Michael Cosca, W. Kirk Schleiffarth, and Gonca Gençalioğlu Kuscu
14:30–14:45 |
| presentation
Reuben Creighton, Wim Spakman, and Gordon Lister
14:45–15:00 |
Massimo Mattei, Francesca Cifelli, Andrea Leonardo Visconti, Reza Nozaem, Aldo Winkler, and Leonardo Sagnotti
15:00–15:15 |
| solicited
Richard Walker, Yevgeniy Bezmenov, Andrew Carr, Nicholas Dodds, Christoph Gruetzner, James Hollingsworth, James Jackson, Robert Mirzin, Zahra Mousavi, Ed Rhodes, Morteza Talebian, and Andrea Walpersdorf
15:15–15:30 |
Vahid Teknik, Abdolreza Ghods, Hans Thybo, and Irina Artemieva
15:30–15:45 |
Jentzer Michael, Agard Philippe, Whitechurch Hubert, Fournier Marc, Omrani Jafar, Bonnet Guillaume, Zarrinkoub Mohammad Hossein, and Khatib Mohammad Mahdi
East - Himalaya and SE Asia
Coffee break
Chairperson: Derya Guerer, Ágnes Király
16:15–16:30 |
Johannes Rembe, Edward R. Sobel, Jonas Kley, Baiansuluu Terbishalieva, Renjie Zhou, Chen Jie, and Langtao Liu
16:30–16:45 |
Jessica Walsh, Solomon Buckman, Allen Nutman, and Renjie Zhou
16:45–17:00 |
Wanchese Saktura, Solomon Buckman, Allen Nutman, and Vickie Bennett
17:15–17:30 |
Fanny Goussin, Nicolas Riel, Carole Cordier, Stéphane Guillot, Philippe Boulvais, Pierrick Roperch, Anne Replumaz, Karel Schulmann, Guillaume Dupont-Nivet, Filipe Rosas, and Zhaojie Guo
17:30–17:45 |
Jan Westerweel, Pierrick Roperch, Alexis Licht, Guillaume Dupont-Nivet, Zaw Win, Fernando Poblete, Gilles Ruffet, Huasheng Huang, Virginia Littell, Hnin Hnin Swe, Myat Kai Thi, Carina Hoorn, and Day Wa Aung
17:45–18:00 |
| solicited
Meghan Miller, Cooper Harris, Robert Porritt, Daoyuan Sun, Ping Zhang, Sri Widiyantoro, Pepen Supendi, and Thorsten Becker