The Alps have been intensively studied by geologists for more than a century, providing a unique natural laboratory to deepen our understanding of orogenic processes and their relationship to mantle dynamics. Although most concepts that underlie current studies of mountain belts and convergence dynamics were born in the Alps, the belt is now being examined with renewed vigour in the AlpArray project. This project involves a large number of European institutions, with efforts focused on the AlpArray Seismic Network to provide homogeneous seismological coverage of the greater Alpine area at unprecedented aperture and station density, both on land and sea. New data is being recorded in a multidisciplinary research effort, and other projects are being planned in the immediate and mid-term future.
Within this context, we invite contributions from the Earth Science community that highlight new results in AlpArray and that identify and solve key open questions of the present and past structure and dynamics of the Alps and neighbouring orogens. Both disciplinary and multi-disciplinary contributions are welcome from geophysical imaging, seismotectonics, geodesy, geodynamics, gravimetry, tectonics, structural geology, petrology, geochronology, thermomechanical modelling and other allied fields. Scales of interest range from crustal to upper mantle, in the Alps and neighbouring mountain belts such as the Apennines, the Carpathians and the Dinarides.

Co-organized as GD6.7/SM1.22
Convener: Anne Paul | Co-conveners: M. R. Handy, György Hetényi, Marco Giovanni Malusa', Irene Molinari
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room K1
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X2

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room K1

Chairperson: Anne Paul, Mark Handy
08:30–08:45 |
Josip Stipcevic, Marijan Herak, Irene Molinari, and Iva Dasovic
08:45–09:00 |
Sven Schippkus, Helmut Hausmann, Zacharie Duputel, Götz Bokelmann, and AlpArray Working Group
09:00–09:15 |
Jaroslava Plomerová, Luděk Vecsey, Vladislav Babuška, Helena Žlebčíková, György Hetényi, and Irene Bianchi and the AlpArray-EASI and AlpArray working groups
09:15–09:30 |
Anke Dannowski, Felix Wolf, Heidrun Kopp, Ingo Grevemeyer, Dietrich Lange, Martin Thorwart, Wayne Crawford, Grazia Caielli, Roberto de Franco, Anne Paul, Florian Petersen, Bettina Schramm, MsM71 cruise participants, and AlpArray Offshore Working Group
09:30–09:45 |
Yang Lu, Anne Paul, Laurent Stehly, Romain Brossier, Stéphane Guillot, and Marco Malusa and the AlpArray Working Group
09:45–10:00 |
Cameron Spooner, Magdalena Scheck-Wenderoth, Judith Bott, Hans-Jürgen Götze, Jörg Ebbing, Josef Sebera, and György Hetényi
10:00–10:15 |
Luca Dal Zilio, Edi Kissling, and Taras Gerya
Coffee break
Chairperson: Marco Malusa, Anne Paul
10:45–11:00 |
Filippo Luca Schenker, Christian Ambrosi, Cristian Scapozza, Dorota Czerski, Matteo Maino, and Claudio Castelletti
11:00–11:15 |
Lukas Nibourel, Meinert Rahn, Alfons Berger, István Dunkl, Frédéric Herman, Tobias Diehl, and Marco Herwegh
11:15–11:30 |
Samuel Mock, Fritz Schlunegger, Christoph von Hagke, István Dunkl, and Marco Herwegh
11:30–11:45 |
Alexey G. Petrunin, Mikhail K. Kaban, Sami El Khrepy, and Nassir Al‐Arifi
11:45–12:00 |
Christoph Grützner, Simone Aschenbrenner, Petra Jamšek Rupnik, Kamil Ustaszewski, Blaž Vičič, Marko Vrabec, Julian Welte, and Klaus Reicherter
12:00–12:15 |
Liviu Matenco, Marianne van Unen, Vedad Demir, and Attila Balazs
12:15–12:30 |
Claudio Rosenberg, Nicolas Bellahsen, Emanuel Kästle, Alain Rabaute, and Lapo Boschi