Quantitative analysis tools have become increasingly common in structural geology. Imaging techniques such as computed tomography are used to build highly accurate, three-dimensional models of geological structures. Structural measurements are facilitated and often accelerated owing to photogrammetric methods of reconstructing the studied outcrops. Geological structures can then be classified using statistical methods. These new methods allow for the integration of observations and quantification on scales which were inaccessible before. Experimental, analytical, and numerical techniques are used to develop quantitative mechanical models of rock deformation processes, and with the advent of modern computing power, high-resolution models and systematic simulations are nowadays feasible. Remote sensing techniques, including airborne or terrestrial photogrammetry and lidar, make it possible to realize exquisitely detailed three-dimensional (3D) topographic datasets from outcrop to regional scales. These technologies allow detailed, quantitative geological analysis in inaccessible, even extra-terrestrial, terrain. The data-reduction process that transforms these rich datasets into geologically meaningful descriptions of the structure and composition of outcropping rocks is, however, a significant challenge. Recent developments in this area are paving the way for novel geological analysis, incorporating data analysis techniques such as 3D interpolation, machine-learning, (semi-)automatic techniques, and immersive visualization.

We invite contributions discussing advances and challenges in quantifying geological structures at all scales.

Convener: Bernhard Grasemann | Co-conveners: Marcin Dabrowski, Friedrich Hawemann, Marcel Thielmann, Andrea Bistacchi, Luca Penasa, Sam Thiele
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Room K2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X2

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room K2

Chairperson: Marcel Thielmann, Andrea Bistacchi
10:45–11:00 |
Johanna Heeb, Nicholas E. Timms, David Healy, Enrique Gomez-Rivas, and Chris Elders
11:15–11:30 |
Michał Michalak, Waldemar Bardziński, and Lesław Teper
11:30–11:45 |
Richard Jones, David Oxlade, Jonathan Long, Sébastien Gilment, and Maxwell Wilkinson
11:45–12:00 |
Moritz Kirsch, Sandra Lorenz, Robert Zimmermann, Louis Andreani, Laura Tusa, Philip Hödl, Robert Jackisch, Gabriel Unger, Richard Gloaguen, Maarit Middleton, Antti Ojala, Jussi Mattila, Nicklas Nordbäck, Jukka-Pekka Palmu, Timo Ruskeeniemi, and Raimo Sutinen
12:00–12:15 |
Dietmar Muller, Sabin Zahirovic, Simon Williams, John Cannon, Maria Seton, Dan Bower, Michael Tetley, Christian Heine, Eline LeBreton, Shaofeng Liu, Samuel Russell, Ting Yang, Jonathon Leonard, and Michael Gurnis
12:15–12:30 |
Riccardo Pozzobon, Dario Pesce, Matteo Massironi, and Barbara De Toffoli