The Permafrost Open Session is a platform for the presentation and discussion of current research focusing on (a) permafrost and associated natural systems; (b) the interaction of permafrost and climate; (c) the impact of permafrost changes on both, natural and human systems; and (d) the measurement, understanding, modeling, and parameterization of corresponding processes. Contributions are welcome on high-latitude, mountain, and planetary permafrost.

We look forward to a high-quality session with a high number of contributions that reflect diverse scientific fields, approaches, and geographic locations. We would like to especially encourage contributions that (a) present novel measurement and monitoring approaches; (b) present new strategies to improve process understanding; (c) come from or interface with differing fields of science or innovative technologies and methods; (d) investigate model validation, model uncertainty, or spatial and temporal scale/scalability; (e) couple models of diverse processes or scales.

The Permafrost Open Session complements several other sessions with more specific foci (such as natural hazards, geophysics, or geomorphology) and is intended to be the forum for research primarily focusing on permafrost phenomena.

Co-organized as GM9.6
Convener: Michael Krautblatter | Co-conveners: Reginald Muskett, Sebastian Westermann, Ylva Sjöberg, Eric Pohl
| Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room N2, Tue, 09 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room 1.85
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X4

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room N2

Chairperson: Michael Krautblatter, Reginald Muskett & Sebastian Westermann
Permafrost system analysis and modelling strategies
14:00–14:15 |
| Highlight
Joel Harper and Toby Meierbachtol
14:15–14:30 |
Thomas Zwinger, Juha Hartikainen, and Denis Cohen
14:30–14:45 |
Clifford Voss
14:45–15:00 |
| Highlight
Bernd Etzelmuller, Henry Patton, Anders Schoemacker, Alun Lloyd Hubbard, Justyna Czekirda, and Sebastian Westermann
15:00–15:15 |
Liudmila Lebedeva, David Gustafsson, Olga Makarieva, and Svetlana Agafonova
15:15–15:30 |
Inge Grünberg, William L. Cable, Sofia Antonova, Stephan Lange, and Julia Boike
15:30–15:45 |
Spatial distribution and climate sensitivity of permafrost in High Asia
Marco Otto, Dieter Scherer, Xun Wang, and Vanessa Tolksdorf
Coffee break
Chairperson: Ylva Sjoberg & Eric Pohl
Permafrost-affected hydrological systems & element transport
16:15–16:30 |
Pierrick Lamontagne-Hallé, Jeffrey McKenzie, Barret Kurylyk, Lin Chen, and Samuel Zipper
16:30–16:45 |
| Highlight
Michelle Walvoord, Kimberly Wickland, Burke Minsley, and Robert Striegl
16:45–17:00 |
Laurent Orgogozo, Anatoly S. Prokushkin, Oleg S. Pokrovsky, Christophe Grenier, Michel Quintard, Jérôme Viers, and Stéphane Audry
17:00–17:15 |
Sean Carey, Nadine Shatilla, and Weigang Tang
17:15–17:30 |
| Highlight
John Molson, Sophie Dagenais, Masoumeh Shojae Ghias, Marion Cochand, Britt Albers, René Therrien, Richard Fortier, and Jean-Michel Lemieux
17:30–17:45 |
Johan Rydberg, Tobias Lindborg, Fredrik Lidman, Mats Tröjbom, Sten Berglund, Emma Johansson, Ulrik Kautsky, and Hjalmar Laudon
17:45–18:00 |
Thea Ilaria Piovano, Doerthe Tetzlaff, Sean Carey, Nadine Shatilla, Aaron Smith, and Chris Soulsby

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room 1.85

Chairperson: Michael Krautblatter, Reginald Muskett & Sebastian Westermann
Novel methods in permafrost system analysis
16:30–16:45 |
Tanja Schroeder, Riccardo Scandroglio, Verena Stammberger, Maximilian Wittmann, and Michael Krautblatter
16:45–17:00 |
Artur Marciniak, Bartosz Owoc, Tomasz Wawrzyniak, Adam Nawrot, Michał Glazer, Marzena Osuch, Wojciech Dobiński, and Mariusz Majdański
17:00–17:15 |
Antoine Guillemot, Baillet Laurent, Helmstetter Agnès, Larose Éric, and Mayoraz Raphaël
17:15–17:30 |
Antoine Coperey, André Revil, Benoit Stutz, Pierre Allain Duvillard, Feras Abdulsamad, and Ludovic Ravanel
17:30–17:45 |
Jan Beutel, Samuel Weber, Matthias Meyer, and Andreas Hasler
17:45–18:00 |
Annett Bartsch, Tazio Strozzi, Marina Leibman, Barbara Widhalm, Artem Khomutov, Damir Mullanurov, and Anatoly Gubarkov