During the last decade significant advances in our understanding of the development of Cenozoic polar continental margins have been made. These include more detailed reconstructions of the climatic, oceanographic, and tectonic evolution of high northern and southern latitudes over various time scales, as well as reconstructions of past ice-sheet dynamics and studies of marine geohazards. Results have been obtained from conventional and high-resolution 2D and 3D seismic surveying, as well as from short sediment cores and longer drill cores (e.g. IODP, MeBo).
Fjords are regarded as “small oceans” that incise high latitude coastlines and link continental margins with the interiors of landmasses. Fjord settings allow us to study a variety of geological processes similar to those that have occurred on glaciated continental margins, but typically at smaller scales. The contribution of several sediment sources (e.g. glacial, fluvioglacial, fluvial, biological) to fjord basins along with relatively high sedimentation rates also provides the potential for high-resolution palaeoclimatic and palaeooceanographic records on decadal to centennial timescales.
The aim of this multi-disciplinary session is to follow on from the success of previous years by bringing together researchers working on northern and southern high-latitude continental margins and fjords, investigating the dynamics of past ice sheets, climate, tectonics, sedimentary processes, physical oceanography, and palaeo-biology/ecology.

Convener: Michele Rebesco | Co-conveners: Matthias Forwick, H. Christian Hass (deceased), Berit Oline Hjelstuen, Jan Sverre Laberg
| Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45, 16:15–18:00
Room E2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X5

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room E2

Chairperson: Michele Rebesco
Arctic continental margins and fjords
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Patrick Lajeunesse, Pierre Dietrich, Jean-François Ghienne, Alexandre Normandeau, Etienne Brouard, and Guillaume St-Onge
14:15–14:30 |
Ed Pope, Alexandre Normandeau, Colm Ó Cofaigh, Peter Talling, and Chris Stokes
14:45–15:00 |
Marc Zehnich, Robert F. Spielhagen, Henning A. Bauch, Matthias Forwick, H. Christian Hass, Gesine Mollenhauer, Tina Palme, Rüdiger Stein, and Nicole Syring
15:00–15:15 |
Tom Arne Rydningen, Vårin Trælvik Eilertsen, Matthias Forwick, Katrine Husum, Amando Lasabuda, Jan Sverre Laberg, and Ulysses Silas Ninnemann
15:15–15:30 |
Tomas Torsvik, Jon Albretsen, Arild Sundfjord, and Jack Kohler
15:30–15:45 |
Benjamin Bellwald, Sverre Planke, Rachel Barrett, Christine Batchelor, and Reidun Myklebust
Coffee break
Chairperson: Jan Sverre Laberg
Antarctic continental margins and fjords
16:15–16:30 |
| solicited
Julia Wellner, Karsten Gohl, and Adam Klaus
16:45–17:00 |
Francesca Battaglia, Luca Baradello, Laura De Santis, Chiara Sauli, Emiliano Gordini, Vedrana Kovacevic, Danilo Morelli, Leonardo Langone, Gualtiero Bohm, Florence Colleoni, Ester Colizza, Michele Rebesco, Daniela Accetella, and Laura Ursella
17:00–17:15 |
Dimitris Evangelinos, Carlota Escutia, Johan Etourneau, José-Abel Flores, Emmanuelle Ducassou, David Harwood, Luis Valero, Claire Huck, Katharina Kreissig, Marie-Claire Perello, Adrián López-Quirós, Ariadna Salabarnada, and Tina van de Flierdt
17:15–17:30 |
| Highlight
Raphael Gromig, Gerhard Kuhn, Christoph Gaedicke, Olaf Eisen, Emma Smith, Wolf Dummann, Da Gong, Li Yazhou, Xiaopeng Fan, Oliver Römpler, Sophie Berger, Holger Schubert, Ralf Tiedemann, Frank Wilhelms, Boris Biskaborn, Nikola Koglin, Andreas Läufer, Dieter Franke, Jan Tell, and Pavel Talalay
17:30–17:45 |
Adrián López Quirós, Carlota Escutia, Johan Etourneau, Frida S. Hoem, Peter K. Bijl, David Harwood, Francisco J. Rodríguez-Tovar, Fernando Bohoyo, Francisco J. Lobo, Dimitris Evangelinos, Ariadna Salabarnada, and Carlos Expósito-Ceballos
17:45–18:00 |
Sebastian Lindhorst, Pablo Heredia Barión, Ilona Schutter, Ulrike Falk, and Gerhard Kuhn