CL4.23 Media

Detecting and attributing the fingerprint of anthropogenic climate change in long-term observed climatic trends is an active area of research. Though the science is well established for temperature related variables, the study of other climate indicators including hydrometeorological variables pose greater challenges due to their greater complexity and rarity.

Complementary to this, assessing the extent to which extreme weather events and impacts are attributable to anthropogenic climate change is a rapidly developing science, with emerging schools of thought on the methodology. Once again, the attribution of hydrometeorological events, long-term trends in these events and/or their impacts is less straightforward than temperature-related events.

This session solicits the latest studies from the spectrum of detection and/or attribution approaches. By considering studies over this wide range of temporal and spatial scales we aim to identify common/new methods, current challenges, and avenues for expanding the detection and attribution community. We particularly welcome submissions that compare approaches, or address hydrometerological trends, extremes and/or impacts – all of which test the limits of the present science.

Convener: Pardeep Pall | Co-conveners: Alexis Hannart, Seung-Ki Min, Aurélien Ribes
| Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room F2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X5

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room F2

Chairperson: Pardeep Pall
14:00–14:15 |
Friederike Fröb, Sebastian Sonntag, and Tatiana Ilyina
14:15–14:30 |
Muye Du, Axel Kleidon, Fubao Sun, Maik Renner, and Wenbin Liu
14:30–14:45 |
Martha Marie Vogel, Jakob Zscheischler, Richard Wartenburger, Dick Dee, and Sonia I. Seneviratne
14:45–15:00 |
| Highlight
Folmer Krikken, Flavio Lehner, Igor Drobyshev, and Geert Jan van Oldenborgh
15:00–15:15 |
Sheng Chen, Davide Faranda, and Mathieu Vrac
15:15–15:30 |
Kevin Reed, Alyssa Stansfield, Michael Wehner, and Colin Zarzycki
15:30–15:45 |
Lukas Gudmundsson, Hong X. Do, Simon N. Gosling, Manolis G. Grillakis, Aristeidis G. Koutroulis, Michael Leonard, Junguo Lui, Hannes Müller Schmied, Lamprini Papadimitriou, Yadu Pokhrel, Jacob Schewe, Sonia I. Seneviratne, Wim Thiery, Seth Westra, Xuebin Zhang, and Fang Zhao