ITS5.1/SSP2.1/CL3.01/GM6.7/SSS13.32 Media

The Anthropocene is a topic of broad and current interest that is being discussed across various disciplines, within Earth Sciences, but also in the humanities and in the media. Its significance and usefulness as the youngest epoch of the Geological Time Scale is examined by the Working Group of the Anthropocene of the Subcommission on Quaternary Stratigraphy, part of the International Commission on Stratigraphy. A multidisciplinary and transdisciplinary approach for investigating and discussing the Anthropocene is feasible, including not only various Earth Sciences disciplines such as stratigraphy, sedimentology, geochemistry and palaeontology, but also archaeology, geography, geomorphology and various disciplines of the humanities and the arts. This session invites transdisciplinary and interdisciplinary contributions on the significance, usefulness and application of the term, as well as case studies including proposals on possible GSSPs (Global Boundary Stratotype Section and Point) for a definition of the Anthropocene as part of the Geological Time Scale. The session will foster transdisciplinary dialogue and interdisciplinary cooperation and understanding on the scale and reach of anthropogenic changes within the Earth System.

Co-organized as SSP2.1/CL3.01/GM6.7/SSS13.32
Convener: Michael Wagreich | Co-conveners: Katrin Hornek, Kira Lappé, Colin N. Waters, Jan Zalasiewicz
| Wed, 10 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room N1
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X1

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room N1

Chairperson: Katrin Hornek
16:15–16:30 |
Michael Hauhs, Christina Bogner, Georg Klute, and Holger Lange
16:30–16:45 |
Bjarki Bragason and Anna Líndal
16:45–17:00 |
| presentation
Ana-Maria Machedon
17:00–17:15 |
Anthony Foucher, Olivier Evrard, Sébastien Salvador-Blanes, Irène Lefèvre, Clément Chabert, Rosalie Vandromme, and Olivier Cerdan
17:15–17:30 |
Irka Hajdas, Quan Hua, Andrzej Rakowski, and Xiaomei Xu
17:30–17:45 |
Zdzisław Migaszewski and Agnieszka Gałuszka
17:45–18:00 |
Luyuan Zhang, Xiaolin Hou, Weijian Zhou, Yukun Fan, Xue Zhao, Ning Chen, and Zhisheng An