This session will cover applied and theoretical aspects of geophysical imaging, modelling and inversion using both active- and passive-source seismic measurements as well as other geophysical techniques (e.g., gravimetry, magnetic and electromagnetic) to investigate the Earth’s crust and uppermost mantle. We invite contributions focused on methodological developments, theoretical aspects, and applications. Studies across the scales and disciplines are particularly welcome.

Among others, the session may cover the following topics:
- Active- and passive-source imaging using body- and surface-waves;
- Full waveform inversion developments and applications;
- Advancements and case studies in 2D and 3D active-source imaging;
- Interferometry and Marchenko imaging;
- Seismic attenuation and anisotropy;
- Developments and applications of multi-scale and multi-parameter inversion;
- Joint inversion of seismic and complementary geophysical data;
- Applications of new acquisition systems.

Co-organized as EMRP2.62/GD2.7
Convener: Cedric Schmelzbach | Co-conveners: Matthew Agius, Stefan Buske, Michal Malinowski, Milena Marjanovic
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room D3
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X2

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room D3

Chairperson: Cedric Schmelzbach and Michal Malinowski
Active-source seismic exploration & methodological developments
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Gaye Bayrakci, Timothy A. Minshull, Jonathan M. Bull, Richard G. Davy, Dirk Klaeschen, Cord Pappenberg, Dale Sawyer, Timothy J. Reston, Gaël Lymer, Derren Cresswell, César Ranero, and Adrià Meléndez
08:45–09:00 |
Andrew Curtis, Richard Arnold, and Xin Zhang
09:00–09:15 |
Andrea Zunino, Andreas Fichtner, and Klaus Mosegaard
09:15–09:30 |
Kees Wapenaar, Joeri Brackenhoff, Myrna Staring, and Jan Thorbecke
Multi-disciplinary studies
09:30–09:45 |
Rebecca Pearce, Almudena Sanches de la Muela, Max Moorkamp, Tom Mitchell, Jose Cembrano-Perasso, Jaime Araya, James Hammond, Philip Meredith, and Gonzalo Yanez
09:45–10:00 |
Catherine A. Rychert, Nicholas Harmon, Mike Kendall, Steve Constable, Saikiran Tharimena, Matthew Agius, Petros Bogiatzis, David Schlaphorst, and Shunguo Wang
10:00–10:15 |
Johannes Käufl, Alexander V. Grayver, Matthew J. Comeau, Alexey V. Kuvshinov, Michael Becken, Jochen Kamm, Erdenechimeg Batmagnai, and Sodnomsambu Demberel
Coffee break
Chairperson: Milena Marjanovic and Matthew Agius
Receiver functions
10:45–11:00 |
Mohit Agrawal, Jay Pulliam, and Mrinal Sen
11:00–11:15 |
Giovanni Diaferia, Fabio Cammarano, Nicola Piana Agostinetti, Chao Gao, and Claudio Faccenna
Ambient noise
11:15–11:30 |
Laura Ermert, Korbinian Sager, and Andreas Fichtner
11:30–11:45 |
Juvenal Andrés, Deyan Draganov, Puy Ayarza, Martin Schimmel, Imma Palomeras, Mario Ruiz, and Ramon Carbonell
11:45–12:00 |
Panayiota Sketsiou, Ferdinando Napolitano, and Luca De Siena
12:00–12:15 |
Marie Calvet, Ludovic Margerin, and Shu-Huei Hung
12:15–12:30 |
Gizem Izgi and Tuna Eken