The complicated and non-linear responses of various plasma populations in the inner magnetosphere are driven by the solar wind and determined by various coupling mechanisms. The inner magnetospheric particle population is driven by the global and local electric and magnetic fields. The Ionosphere serves as a sink of energy and feeds back magnetosphere, as well as provides the source of outflow particles for refilling of the lost magnetospheric particles. Precipitating inner magnetospheric particles cause changes in the ionospheric conductivity and may affect the upper atmospheric chemistry and climate. Dynamics of the plasmasphere, ring current and radiation belts are also coupled by means of currents and fields as well as wave-particle interactions. While the dynamics of outer planets’ magnetospheres are driven by a unique combination of internal coupling processes, the latter have a number of fascinating similarities which make comparative studies particularly interesting.
We invite a broad range of theoretical, modelling, and observational studies focusing on the dynamics of the inner magnetosphere of the Earth and outer planets, including the coupling of the inner magnetosphere and ionosphere and coupling between the solar wind disturbances and various magnetospheric processes. In particular, we encourage presentations using data from MMS, THEMIS, Van Allen Probes, Arase (ERG), Juno and cube-sat missions.

Convener: Yuri Shprits | Co-convener: Maria Usanova
| Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room L8
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room L8

14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Lauren Blum, Remya Bhanu, Anton Artemyev, and Oleksiy Agapitov
14:15–14:30 |
Ioannis A. Daglis, Christos Katsavrias, Ingmar Sandberg, Wen Li, Constantinos Papadimitriou, Christos Tsironis, Elena Podladchikova, and Sigiava Aminalragia-Giamini
14:30–14:45 |
Robert Rankin, Alexander William Degeling, Yongfu Wang, Guy Whittall-Scherfee, and Quigang Zong
14:45–15:00 |
Harri Laakso
15:00–15:15 |
Natalia Buzulukova, Shannon Hill, and Scott Boardsen
15:15–15:30 |
Alexander Drozdov, Yuri Shprits, Nikita Aseev, Maria Usanova, Frederic Effenberger, and Drew Turner
15:30–15:45 |
Jean-Francois Ripoll and the Team of co-authors