The complicated and non-linear responses of various plasma populations in the inner magnetosphere are driven by the solar wind and determined by various coupling mechanisms. The inner magnetospheric particle population is driven by the global and local electric and magnetic fields. The Ionosphere serves as a sink of energy and feeds back magnetosphere, as well as provides the source of outflow particles for refilling of the lost magnetospheric particles. Precipitating inner magnetospheric particles cause changes in the ionospheric conductivity and may affect the upper atmospheric chemistry and climate. Dynamics of the plasmasphere, ring current and radiation belts are also coupled by means of currents and fields as well as wave-particle interactions. While the dynamics of outer planets’ magnetospheres are driven by a unique combination of internal coupling processes, the latter have a number of fascinating similarities which make comparative studies particularly interesting.
We invite a broad range of theoretical, modelling, and observational studies focusing on the dynamics of the inner magnetosphere of the Earth and outer planets, including the coupling of the inner magnetosphere and ionosphere and coupling between the solar wind disturbances and various magnetospheric processes. In particular, we encourage presentations using data from MMS, THEMIS, Van Allen Probes, Arase (ERG), Juno and cube-sat missions.

Convener: Yuri Shprits | Co-convener: Maria Usanova
| Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room L8
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Attendance time: Friday, 12 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall X4

X4.217 |
Dedong Wang, Yuri Shprits, Irina Zhelavskaya, Oleksiy Agapitov, Alexander Drozdov, Nikita Aseev, Sebastian Cervantes, Angelica Castillo, and Fei Yao
Hall X4
X4.218 |
Juan Sebastian Cervantes Villa, Yuri Shprits, Adam Kellerman, Alexander Drozdov, Nikita Aseev, and Angelica Castillo
Hall X4
X4.219 |
David Koronczay, Janos Lichtenberger, and George Hospodarsky
Hall X4
X4.220 |
David Malaspina, Alexander Drozdov, and Hui Zhu
Hall X4
X4.221 |
Tomas Karlsson and Per-Arne Lindqvist
Hall X4
X4.222 |
Nikita Aseev, Yuri Shprits, Dedong Wang, John Wygant, Alexander Drozdov, Adam Kellerman, and Geoff Reeves
Hall X4
X4.223 |
Irina Zhelavskaya, Nikita Aseev, Yuri Shprits, and Maria Spasojevic
Hall X4
X4.224 |
Angelica M. Castillo, Yuri Shprits, Frederic Effenberg, Dedong Wang, Irina Zhelavskaya, Nikita Aseev, Alexander Drozdov, Juan Sebastian Cervantes, Ruggero Vasile, and Ingo Michaelis
Hall X4
X4.225 |
Frederic Effenberger, Yuri Shprits, Nikita Aseev, Alexander Drozdov, Dedong Wang, Juan Sebastian Cervantes Villa, and Angelica Maria Castillo Tibocha